iOS 9 Picture in Picture Youtube

Discussion in 'iPad' started by j4m13, Jun 8, 2015.

1. j4m13 macrumors member

Hi Guys,

I updated my iPad Air to iOS 9 as i was desperate to see the PIP as this is something i always wanted for youtube. It looks like the app's need to be updated to support it as Youtube or any other app i could see doesn't seem to support PIP. The one one i can see is Apple's own Video App.
    If anyone finds anything else, please let me know!
    BTW, iOS 9 runs REALLY slow on my iPad Air 1, it feels at the moment like iOS7 on iPhone 4, i know it will get better. I am a developer so i expect this :p
    Thanks.

2. DribbleCastle macrumors regular

DribbleCastle

I saw in another thread someone said Safari videos will PIP. Makes sense. Also, thanks for the heads up on performance. Makes me second guess testing Beta 1 on my iPad Air.

3. eyeseeyou macrumors 68000

I had a similar experience.

I went ahead and reset all settings and my iPad Air is running smooth

4. SquireSCA macrumors member

SquireSCA

Isn't PIP a function of the YouTube app itself? I ask because I was using that over a year ago on my Android phone, but it was through the app, not a browser.

Have you tried the app? I am pretty sure PIP works there, and you don't need iOS 9 to do it...

5. BMcCoy macrumors 65816

BMcCoy

It works internally, within the app.. ie. you can PIP a video whilst you scroll/search for another.
    But it doesn't permit you to watch a video whilst opening a different app.
    That is the function that hopefully iOS9 will facilitate...
    Whether the YouTube app will need updating to take advantage of it is another question...

6. SquireSCA macrumors member

SquireSCA

Ah, so you are more talking about split screen than PiP, right?

I played with that a bit in iOS 9 on my Air 2, and it seemed to work pretty well, similar to how Samsung has been doing it on their phones... But it seems that not every app can use it...