iOS B5 and OS X DP6

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by proshots4you, Aug 27, 2014.

  1. proshots4you macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    #1
    Anyone running these 2 latest updates and having success with both continuity and handoff features?
    Intrigued to know as these beta versions are no longer matched if there will be compatibility issues moving forward??
     
  2. Foss macrumors 6502

    Foss

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    #2
    Yes I'm running both IOS 8 beta 5 on my iPhone 5S and Yosemite DP6 on a 2012 rMBP and both Continuity and Handoff are working (being able to answer phone calls on my rMBP and iPad are very nice.)
     
  3. ZeeDD, Aug 27, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2014

    ZeeDD macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    #3
    iOS B5 and OS X DP6

    No continuity for me, but handoff and sms relay are working on my MBA 2013 and iMac 2012 (dp6) with my iPhone 5s (beta5)
     
  4. proshots4you thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    #4
    just to be certain........
    continuity = sms & calling feature
    handoff is opening app on device that is already open on another
    both of these are features are working?
     
  5. TurnerMartin macrumors regular

    TurnerMartin

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    #5
    Continuity is working perfect for me. No the same for the handoff feature

    (iPhone 5S and MBP Mid 2012)
     
  6. kiwiboi87 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #6
    Running beta 5 on my iPhone 5,
    And public beta 2 on my mid 2010 MBP

    Sms relay and phone calls are working fine
     
  7. jmantn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Location:
    Tn
    #7
    Both handoff and continuity works fine for me on my iPhone and iPad as well as my iMac for the last two ios8 betas and DP's. I've actually had both services working since the first beta but they were buggy and hit or miss.

    Answered my first phone call a month ago on my iPad and was both weird and cool at same time. Kinda cool having my Mac ring when phone is upstairs. And I've had no issues picking up where I left off regardless if Safari or Pages since the day the first beta was released as I tried that first.

    IPhone 5s
    iPad Air
    Late 2012 iMac
     
  8. ProphetX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    #8

    Are you sure? I've started a thread in the Yosemite forums and the consensus is that handoff is broken for everyone. You would mind posting some type of proof would you?

    ----------

    Im pretty certain that all of the features that you've mentioned fall under the continuity umbrella.

    ----------

    Any way you could post proof that you have handoff working on DP6 and iOS 8 b5.

    Thanks
     
  9. ZeeDD macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    #9
    Ok, I think that I made mistake:

    What I called Handoff is the ability to answer and launch phone calls from my Macs through my iPhone 5S. It looks like that this feature is called continuity finally... Am I wrong ?

    To be clear:
    1/ I can answer/launch phone calls from my Macs
    2/ I can send SMS with my Macs
    3/ I can NOT start an email or start visiting a web site with an iOs/OsX device, and continue with the other device.

    Is it more clear ?

    Franck
     
  10. ProphetX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    #10
    Your not completely wrong. All of those features fall under the umbrella of continuity. Hand-off is just one feature of continuity.
     
  11. clubtech macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    #11
    Same here Beta 5 on 5s and DP6 on MPb 2013. Can make/receive calls/text but no handoff for email. instant hotspot etc.
    It might be a bug in DP6 or a mismatch in beta versions as these features do work between my iPad mini and S5 both on beta 5.
     
  12. proshots4you thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    #12
    for those who can initiate calls from their mac, does your iPhone then go into a constant reboot loop screen?......not sure if this is isolated to me, downgraded to iOS 7 since it was a real bother to me so may try to reload iOS 8 again to try
     
  13. rodknocker macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
  14. BlueSkyMike1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    #14
    Me too, have found a couple others online experiencing the same thing. besides downgrading did you ever find/hear of a fix for this behavior?
     

Share This Page