iOS Dual Sim has huge limitations

Discussion in 'iOS 12' started by Pagemakers, Nov 7, 2018.

  1. Pagemakers macrumors 68020

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #1
    So here I am on another business trip. I’m from the UK and I’m in Dubai for a couple of days. I’m on a UK EE eSim.

    Here comes the madness of Apple’s Dual-Sim implementation...

    Data in Dubai is not free on my carrier (it’s expensive) so I am not logged into any data network. The only option I have is to send an SMS. I’m away on a business trip so I want to use my business/work line to communicate via SMS until I’m next on WiFi then I’ll resort back to iMessage.

    In the current version of iOS this simple request is impossible!

    As you can see from the attached image of you start a conversation on line 1 you cannot then send a message from line 2 and vice-versa.

    So I have many people who I’ve conversed with via iMessage for the past 12 months. Each thread may also contain photos and documents - valuable information. If I want to SMS one of these people from line 2 I have two options and personally I think both of them are absurd.

    1 - I can delete the entire thread, losing all my previous conversation, photos and documents and then start a new conversation on line 2 with an SMS. When I’m then on WiFi again I need to delete the entire conversation once more and start a new conversation with iMessage back on line 1.

    2 - Instead of doing point 1 above the other option is to do what I did last night which was to call the other person and ask them to send me an SMS on line 2. Then the conversation changes to line 2 and I can then happily SMS away using line 2. When I’m back on WiFi I have to ask the other person to then send me an iMessage to line 1 and now the line is use is back to line 1. I cannot initiate this change only the other person can.

    Is absolute madness. The whole reason of a dual sim phone is to replace 2 devices. I suspect most serious dual sim users are those that have one line for personal use and one line for business/work.

    I’ve sent feedback to Apple about this but I’m astonished how such a massive error such as this could be allowed to happen. Why can’t we simply select the line we need to send a message or call from?

    Then we move onto phone calls....

    The default line for 95% of the users in my phone is line 1. My personal line.

    Now, since I’m away from home in a country where data is expensive and calls are too, I want to use my company’s work line 2.

    Thankfully, calling is easier than messaging but it’s very clunky.

    To call somebody on line 2 I have to select the contact, make a few clicks to get to the line details page and then select ALWAYS USE line 2 (even though I maybe just want to make 1 call on my work line 2). Then after a couple more clicks I can make the call on line 2. However, you are forced to select ALWAYS USE line 2 so now another half a dozen or so clicks are needed to return the setting back to use my personal line 1 after the call.

    It’s poorly implemented and currently for those of use who really do need to use both lines on the phone the current iOS implementation is massively compromised.

    C7373D3F-16C9-4520-99C5-07C6DD228A30.jpeg
     
  2. ajayjp macrumors member

    ajayjp

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    #2
    I think the right implementation should be that when you select a different line then it should appear as a new thread. I.e each line should have a thread for itself since it’s getting sent as a different from number
     
  3. Banglazed macrumors demi-god

    Banglazed

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Location:
    Cupertino, CA
  4. Pagemakers thread starter macrumors 68020

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #4
    Either that or it should just add the following text to the thread (which is does when the recipient contacts you by line 2 so it can be done)...

    —-Number changed to Work—-

    Or

    —-Number changed to Personal—-
     
  5. ajayjp macrumors member

    ajayjp

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    #5
    You could add the text. But the receivers phone will see it as a new message only as it’s coming from a new number.
     
  6. Pagemakers thread starter macrumors 68020

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #6

Share This Page

5 November 7, 2018