iOS on Android ?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by iTitos, Jan 15, 2012.

  1. iTitos macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Location:
    Cyprus
    #1
    Hey all

    i want to make a dumb question !!

    can i run iOS on android phones ?!
     
  2. iTitos, Jan 15, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2012

    iTitos thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Location:
    Cyprus
    #3
    :/ i wonder because one of my friend he buy recently the Galaxy Nexus S
    and i want to put him the iOS!!
     
  3. miss.manson macrumors 6502a

    miss.manson

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Location:
    Georgia
    #4
    What? No
     
  4. cynics macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #5
    Yes you can. Just use and iOS launcher. Google search it.

    It won't actually be ios for obvious programming reasons but it will look and act like it.
     
  5. Ksizzle9 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    That would probably be the closest you will EVER get.
     
  6. cynics macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #7
    Be a great trick to plan on an android fan. Lol
     
  7. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #8
    There are lots of androids themes lockscreens etc in cydia I haven't looked at them much since I'm not that interested. if you just search android in cydia it will pull up allot of them..
     
  8. TC25 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    #9
    Here's the basic concept: Operating systems are made to run on specific hardware.
     
  9. kimdoocheol macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
  10. thewitt macrumors 68020

    thewitt

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    #11
    Like not being able to run Windows on a Mac?
     
  11. bassett700 macrumors member

    bassett700

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    Dingus, VA
    #12
    They are made to run on specific hardware. Does not mean they can't. Case in point: Hackintosh,
     
  12. toasty hoodie macrumors 6502

    toasty hoodie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    #13
    Root the Nexus and look for the MIUI rom. It is the closest to iOS you can get legally on Android
     
  13. TC25 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    #14
    Correct. All the virtual machine technology, e.g., hackintosh, VMWare, Parallels, etc., have a layer of emulation software that sits between the hardware and the operating system that 'fools' the operating system into thinking it's running directly on supported hardware.
     
  14. lgwells1 macrumors regular

    lgwells1

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Location:
    COMO
    #15
    I have windows on my mac.
     
  15. thewitt macrumors 68020

    thewitt

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    #16
    Which was my point.....
     
  16. TC25 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    #17
    Try installing Windows on your Mac without emulation software, which includes Boot Camp, and see how far you get.
     
  17. gngan macrumors 68000

    gngan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    MacWorld
    #18
    What? I didn't know Android uses Cydia. Read before 'trying' to help others.
     
  18. lgwells1 macrumors regular

    lgwells1

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Location:
    COMO
    #19
    Oh Lordy!:rolleyes:
     
  19. TC25 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    #20
    Whatever. :rolleyes:
     
  20. lgwells1 macrumors regular

    lgwells1

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Location:
    COMO
    #21
    Windows is installed an ran from your hard drive. On its own partition. Other than the bios. What is being emulated?
     
  21. TC25 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    #22
    Go back to my original statement; Operating systems are made to run on specific hardware. What's Windows designed to run on? PowerPC? No. Solaris? No. Intel? Ding, ding, ding. We have a winner. What kind of hardware are recent Macs built with? Intel! Where do the drivers come from so Windows can talk to the Mac Intel hardware? Boot Camp! Does Boot Camp do any emulation? I don't know. I don't use it. My original statement stands and is not contradicted by you running Windows on your Mac.
     

Share This Page