iOS or web development?

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by codehound, Aug 24, 2013.

1. codehound macrumors newbie

Hi,
    I thought I would post a career decision question here to solicit input.

The story is: I'm a pretty new coder. I took a 1 year crash course in web development at a community college. However, afterward I got hired through a friend to work on a quite complex iOS app for the past year. Obviously I've spend that year pretty deeply immersed in iOS and objective c. I definitely like it. Anyhow, the contract has ended and I need to find something else. Not a huge deal. But I'm wondering whether I should go back to web development or stick with iOS. I appreciate any input. PS please don't say something like "you should follow your heart" or something similar. I'm looking for personal experience, or thoughts about industry trends, relative prospects, etc.

2. MeUnix macrumors 6502

Personally, seeing that you already have some experience developing iOS apps I would find work dealing with that. However, at the same time if a web development opportunity comes up, don't let that opportunity slip away.

My opinion is based on industry trends as of recent, and the fact that you already have hands-on experience in working on an iOS app.

Hope this helps in some way!

3. NutsNGum macrumors 68030

NutsNGum

There's probably more money in iOS development off the bat, my only concern would be with Android really pressing on in terms of global adoption, do you want to focus on more deeply learning a language (Objective C) which is almost entirely limited to use with Apple products? Especially if potentially the pool of users on iOS devices is likely to drop or stagnate.