iOS10 - Broke my phone ....

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by udflyer, Jun 14, 2016.

  1. udflyer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    #1
    Arggg


    I am a developer so I do this every year.

    Bugs do not bother me. This year it broke my phone.

    After going to iOS10 and using for 1 day, my phone always thinks headphones are plugged :(

    I downgraded back to ios 9.3.2 .. SAME THING!!!!


    Speakerphone on calls work fine.


    Seems like iOS10 messed up the sound driver or something...

    Not pleased with Apple at all.

    BTW I have an iPhone 6s Plus


    ...Elmo Sad...
     
  2. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #2
    Have you tried cleaning out your headphone jack? Perhaps plugging and plugging headphones in as well?
     
  3. udflyer thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    #3
    Yes....still no go, Phone is very clean well taken care of
     
  4. chrf097 macrumors 68040

    chrf097

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    #4
    It's possible your headphone port or the cable is damaged.
     
  5. udflyer thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    #5

    Port was fine until iOS 10... Timing suspect... Cable not involved. No cable is plugged in but it thinks it is.

    What is strange is speakerphone on a phone call does work
     
  6. hallidc macrumors 6502

    hallidc

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    #6
    If it's not a hardware failure from the beta then I wouldn't be upset with Apple. This is why Betas are said to be installed on a second device. Anything can happen.
     
  7. stulaw11 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    #7
    If you're a dev then you should know restoring back to iOS9 restores literally evening from scratch. There are no hidden residual files in some secret stash on the iphone. If it was a "driver" issue reinstalling iOS9 wouldve fixed it.

    Bring it to the Apple Store, could be random hardware failure- coincidence.
     
  8. nooaah macrumors 68000

    nooaah

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #8
    Literally impossible iOS 10 did this if you truly downgraded, dude. It's coincidencental hardware fault/damage.
     
  9. udflyer thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    #9

    From what I am reading, I agree.....still strange timing...oh well. thanks everyone
     
  10. nooaah macrumors 68000

    nooaah

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #10
    The good news is you'll get a brand new device for free! Assuming it's under warranty or insured
     
  11. AustinIllini macrumors demi-god

    AustinIllini

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #11
    Bad luck. Take it to the Apple Store and don't mention the beta at all unless you want a lecture.
     
  12. bbfc macrumors 68030

    bbfc

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle, England.
    #12
    Funnily enough my 6 Plus did this yesterday. I plugged the headphones back in and unplugged and that fixed it. Maybe the port needs cleaning.
     
  13. Latinking25 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    #13
    I have a iPhone 6s and it happened earlier to me but I just restarted and it's back to normal
     
  14. Nikos, Jun 15, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2016

    Nikos macrumors 68000

    Nikos

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #14
    A restart solved this issue for me as well. If it doesn't work, try resetting all settings.
     
  15. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #15
    Bring it to Apple...they won't know you were running the beta if you don't mention it...especially if you're on 9.3.2.
     
  16. jsmith189 macrumors 65816

    jsmith189

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #16
    I sort of had a problem with the headphones/calls too. I plugged them in to make a call, couldn't hear anything. I unplugged them and it cut the call. They called back, and the speakerphone button was disabled. I used it like a regular phone, and my screen didn't turn off when I put it up to my ear so I tried to lock the phone and that also cut the call. They called back, the speakerphone button was back but I didn't dare plug the headphones in again. The screen just didn't turn off, so I had to make the whole call with the screen lit the whole time lol.

    I haven't gone back to 9 though so can't speak on whether it's now a phone problem or not.
     
  17. iApplereviews macrumors newbie

    iApplereviews

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Location:
    The Internet
    #17
    If it doesn't work on iOS 9 it's hardware related if iOS 10 did anything to drivers (if iOS even has any) it would have been reinstalled with iOS 9
     
  18. blasto2236 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    #18
    This is definitely unrelated to the beta and entirely coincidental. I'd be willing to bet there is some pocket lint or other debris in your headphone jack that is causing the phone to think something is inserted when there isn't. Sounds crazy, but take a vacuum hose to it, you may be able to resolve it on your own.

    One more reason in favor of just removing the headphone jack altogether.
     
  19. stulaw11 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    #19
    Running the beta wont matter. It's not against Apple's warranty rules to run the official beta like jailbreaking say would be where they could (not must) deny it.

    Even jailbreaking they are relatively cool about it and just restore it to stock OS. I had that one time total I had a hardware failure and the guy just mentioned something but restored it and swapped it.

    Most hardware failures are still present regardless of beta or jailbreak and its swapped regardless.
     
  20. Polaroid macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    #20
    Mine had same issue recently (not due to beta) - took to Apple and they replaced phone within 15 minutes. My phone was in greta condition, never dropped - sometimes it just goes faulty.
     
  21. DaveOP macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #21
    To be honest, most of them don't really care either. They'll ask you to restore the phone back to release, but that's about it. Source: Used to work there.
     
  22. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #22
    What about the watchOS beta? How do they handle issues while running that?
     
  23. DaveOP macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #23
    They will send it to a repair facility to have the software restored. You'll be without it for a week. This may have a cost if it's out of warranty, I was not working there past last winter, when every Watch was still in warranty.
     
  24. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #24
    So let's say the side button craps out while running the beta. Will they just repair/replace it under warranty or will they have to restore the software to see if that's the cause first?
     
  25. DaveOP macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #25
    There generally is no such thing as an in-store replacement. Every watch goes to a repair facility, where I am sure they will downgrade the software, verify the button is bad, and then either fix or replace from that facility. (They make you un-pair the watch before service, which wipes it anyway) Apple Stores do not have watch inventory to just swap them like they do phones. Managers sometimes make exceptions and swap for new inventory. I have also heard some of the larger stores have some limited swap stock, but Chicago did not.
     

Share This Page