iOS10: No longer able to dissociate Region format language from OS language

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by lobbyist, Sep 13, 2016.

  1. lobbyist macrumors regular

    lobbyist

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #1
    Looks like the "Advanced" menu has disappeared in iOS10. Very annoying :mad:

    I used to have OS language set to English and Region Format set to French. OS language now dictates everything.

    It's a "new" feature I'm guessing :(

    IMG_1843 (Mobile).PNG IMG_1844 (Mobile).PNG
     
  2. murgo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #2
    So you can't have your phone in English with German region settings anymore? This is mindblowing.. what the hell were they thinking? I will NEVER EVER set my phone language to German. Guess I won't be updating..
     
  3. lobbyist thread starter macrumors regular

    lobbyist

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #3
    Nope. In iOS10, the Advanced menu just isn't there anymore. Pretty much in line with Apple's obsession at over-simplifying everything ... I bet they just suddenly decided this menu was too complicated.

     
  4. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #4
    Or it's a bug of some sort.
     
  5. andresro14 macrumors newbie

    andresro14

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2016
    #5
    Damn, this sucks.
    Why they do this kind of things?
     
  6. C DM, Sep 13, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2016

    C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #6
    Hard to say, but unfortunately it sounds just like at least a handful of other previously existing and fairly straightforward features that didn't really need to be removed this seems to just another one that was removed for some reason, or perhaps no reason at all (or potentially due to some oversight/bug, which might mean it could be fixed at some point).
     
  7. oMc macrumors 6502

    oMc

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Location:
    Finland & France
    #7
    My phone is in French and region settings in Finland and everything is fine, iOS is not forcing me to set my phone language in Finnish or my region settings in France, so I don't see the problem.
     
  8. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #8
    Was it like that before and just carried over? Can you change that to something else similar if you wanted to now with iOS 10?
     
  9. Paddle1 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
  10. yashz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2015
    Location:
    USA
    #10
    Looks like I still have the option in iOS 10 GM. Clean install a couple months ago. [​IMG]
     
  11. oMc macrumors 6502

    oMc

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Location:
    Finland & France
    #11
    Yes it was like this since iOS 9, I moved in Finland in February.

    But I still can edit it the way I want, on iOS 10. Just changed region settings to France and then back to Finland, no problems. Then I changed phone language to English (US) and then back to French, no issues. I took a screenshot of my settings when the phone was in English.

    Maybe it's because I have French, English and Suomi in my favorites languages as well as in my keyboards...?

    IMG_0924.JPG
     
  12. Antoni Nygaard macrumors 6502a

    Antoni Nygaard

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Location:
    Denmark
    #12
    My phone is set to English language with region to Denmark. Setup as new with iOS 10
     
  13. lobbyist thread starter macrumors regular

    lobbyist

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #13
    Your region is Finland, but your date format is still in English, correct?

    I can't change my date format back to French whilst still keeping the OS language in English.

     
  14. lobbyist thread starter macrumors regular

    lobbyist

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #14
    What language is the date format in (as shown in the Region Format example at the bottom)?

     
  15. Antoni Nygaard macrumors 6502a

    Antoni Nygaard

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Location:
    Denmark
    #15
    English
     

    Attached Files:

  16. oMc macrumors 6502

    oMc

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Location:
    Finland & France
    #16
    Yes my date format was changed in English. Look at the time on my screenshot, it's 12.14 AM. Now that I've switched back to French it's 12:44 AM (separator was a "." In English and is a ":" in French). And region was Finnish during the whole time.
     
  17. lobbyist thread starter macrumors regular

    lobbyist

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #17
    That's exactly my point. Look at my original post: I used to have the OS language in English and the region format in French. Now it can only be the same language for both!

     
  18. oMc macrumors 6502

    oMc

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Location:
    Finland & France
    #18
    I still don't understand why you can't have a regional setting in one country and a language for the phone totally different, while me and other (like one poster above in Denmark).

    Please post a screenshot of your settings (in iOS 10).
     
  19. lobbyist thread starter macrumors regular

    lobbyist

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #19
    Do you agree that the language of the date format cannot be changed to something other than the language of the OS?

    That's all I'm trying to say here. It wasn't like this before iOS10.

     
  20. stooovie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    #20
    [​IMG]

    Totally fine here. English language, Czech regional format. On both my iPad and iPhone.
     
  21. lobbyist thread starter macrumors regular

    lobbyist

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #21
    Look at my original post. The date format is in French and the iOS menus are in English.

     
  22. oMc macrumors 6502

    oMc

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Location:
    Finland & France
    #22
    Yeah, ok I get it. But it's a non issue for me as France and Finland have similar regional formats anyway. So that's why I haven't noticed anything special since iOS 10.

    But yeah if your phone is set in English but you want to use a European regional format, it seems it's not possible.
     
  23. lobbyist thread starter macrumors regular

    lobbyist

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #23
    But it was definitely possible before.

    Thank you. I hope everyone else who's been replying also finally does understand.

     
  24. stooovie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    #24
    Ah! I get it. I didn't know that was even possible before. But do file a request with Apple.
     
  25. lobbyist thread starter macrumors regular

    lobbyist

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #25
    If you still need me to further explain my point, please let me know.

     

Share This Page