iPhone iOS13 PB4 / US & UK country codes in Dual SIM

Discussion in 'iOS 13' started by valkyrie917, Aug 5, 2019.

  1. valkyrie917 macrumors newbie

    valkyrie917

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2019
    #1
    So I updated to the Beta and currently on PB4. I had read up on the existing bugs and know there's stuff to deal with but I was ok with most of them so I went for it. One I hadn't seen was a country code problem when using dual SIM for 2 different countries.

    My main line is eSIM on VZW. It's set to be the default voice & data line. the physical SIM is a UK line. Since then, all the texts, messages & calls come in with the +44 country code and everyone shows up as unknown (doesn't recognize them as being in my contacts). So in an SMS, everyone who has a US number shows up as +44 instead of +1. iMessage shows as expected but I never turned iMessage on for the UK line. Some phone calls are coming that way also but not all.

    I've since turned the UK line off and removed the physical SIM but it did not fix the problem. Deleting an existing thread does not fix the issue when replies to the original thread are sent.

    I sent feedback to Apple already but I'd love to find a workaround or solution if anyone has any ideas.

    IMG_1771.jpg
     
  2. valkyrie917 thread starter macrumors newbie

    valkyrie917

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2019
    #2
    Hmmm...has no one else had this problem? Just me? Or has no one else had SIM cards from 2 different countries therefore the problem wouldn’t have presented itself?
     
  3. Hatton920 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
  4. Lyn2012 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    #4
    I have both UK and Spanish SIMs on my Max running PB4. I haven’t noticed any problems so far. All my Contacts are stored with the country prefix, don’t know if this makes any difference.
     
  5. valkyrie917 thread starter macrumors newbie

    valkyrie917

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2019
    #5
    Yes, it’s on.

    All the numbers in that screenshot have the US country code or at least their real entries do. I always add country code when I add people to contacts since I travel often.

    But if you aren’t having any issues, then I don’t know. I had to revert back to iOS12 so we’ll see if Apple responds to my feedback.
     
  6. BadMelonFarmer macrumors 6502

    BadMelonFarmer

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Location:
    North Somerset
    #6
    This was also an issue with iOS12.

    I am U.K. based and have an EE ESIM and a work physical SIM.

    i removed the work SIM and put a local data SIM when on holiday in Morocco.

    when I got back and put my work SIM in, it still thought I was in Morocco and U.K. callers were coming through identified as all sorts of non U.K. places.

    it did eventually go away, trying to remember what I did to fix it in the end.

    mid I remember, I will post back.

    but it happened to me in April.... on iOS 12
     
  7. joco32 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    #7
    I copied and saved this comment from the apple support forums a while back, as I have this issue every time I return home. Essentially you need to put the physical sim back in the phone, then manually choose your usual ‘home’ line as primary in ‘Mobile Data’ before then removing the physical sim again. Credit to whoever wrote this post, unfortunately I didn’t take their usename.

    “After hours with tech support with the last resort of full restore looming, it dawned on me, since it all happen after I used a foreign sim in morocco and now the phone seems to think that it is in morocco, it must have something to do with which line the phone designates as primary and secondary... so... I had another foreign sim lying around so I popped that in and once the second cellular plan has been added, the dial assist function was back, and I could designate the AT&T line as primary, and immediately all new calls were in correct US format, and all phone links were dialing properly and dial assist was not interfering. Once I took out the foreign sim, it still is working albeit the dial assist switch is gone again (although I did turn it off before taking the physical sim out), but the phone is not thinking it is in morocco any-longer.... all is back to the way it was - seems like it was a glitch or perhaps I did not designate the e-sim line as primary...”

    Hope this helps
     
  8. valkyrie917 thread starter macrumors newbie

    valkyrie917

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2019
    #8
    That's interesting. Thank you for this. I hope Apple fixes this before roll out as it's a pretty big problem. If I decide to try iOS13 again, I'll be sure to hang on to this work around!!
    --- Post Merged, Aug 11, 2019 at 11:37 AM ---
    See that's also interesting because I don't have that problem at all in iOS12. I wonder what is causing the problem for some but not others?
     
  9. BadMelonFarmer macrumors 6502

    BadMelonFarmer

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Location:
    North Somerset
  10. DeanLubaki macrumors 6502a

    DeanLubaki

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Location:
    Toronto

Share This Page

9 August 5, 2019