iOS4.2 Beta time limited?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by icecavern, Oct 29, 2010.

1. icecavern macrumors regular

An interesting one...

Yes I am a developer in the program so I officially have iOS4.2, anyway...

My iPad is running 4.2b2 and is now showing the connect to iTunes screen. It switched on this morning, but at 8am this morning it stopped and now just displays the screen. Interestingly though I can still hear it "pinging" every 30 mins to say I have new email. So the iPad is running behind the screen fine I'd guess.

Pete

2. davidjearly macrumors 68020

davidjearly

I'm still running b2, and everything is ok with me.

I take that back, mine has just went into 'connect to iTunes' mode whilst I was browsing! :eek:

3. Whorehay macrumors 6502a

Whorehay

Seems like Beta 2 was set to expire October 29th at midnight. I wasn't able to sync or back up after I got the screen, so I just restored back to Beta 3. Hope everyone has a recent backup!

4. yegon macrumors 68020

5. Zcott macrumors 68020

6. EssentialParado macrumors 65816

Affected me this morning, too. Very frustrating. I wish they'd set an expiry date after the official launch of iOS 4.2. Maybe they assumed it would be out by now. The betas are quite large downloads to keep updating to each week. :rolleyes:

7. kenypowa macrumors 6502a

Same here. It's very annoying. Once again it proves iPad is not a standalone device. If I was traveling I'd be so dead.

8. pugnut macrumors 6502a

Ok so you put a beta, on your device and you count that as a limitation of the iPad? A few facts. AAPL has real developers working so they will never let it die on the vine with a new one. The pattern here is now that this will be GM soon.

9. kenypowa macrumors 6502a