iOS4 + MyWi: working?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by mavis, Jun 8, 2010.

  1. mavis macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #1
    I'm anxious to get my 3GS running 4.0 but don't want to lose my MyWi - has anyone taken the plunge yet and tested MyWi on 4.0?
     
  2. Loves2spoon macrumors 65816

    Loves2spoon

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Location:
    California
    #2
    MyWi will not work yet but PDANET works fine.
     
  3. iMrNiceGuy0023 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    #3
    im sure they will get MyWi working as soon as it comes out...its a popular app and im sure they want to gain more customers
     
  4. mavis thread starter macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #4
    Is that an educated guess or have you tested it? By "it" I mean MyWi - it's the only way I know of to tether an iPad to the iPhone ...
     
  5. Loves2spoon macrumors 65816

    Loves2spoon

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Location:
    California
    #5
    tried mywi and got an error message, will not work on 4.0 :(
     
  6. mavis thread starter macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #6
    Awesome, thanks for the confirmation! Awesome, but not ... :eek:
     
  7. melman101 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #7
    Yeah, this sucks. I'll wait for MyWi to be fixed before I move up to iOS 4.

    Hopefully it's fixed by the time I get an iPhone 4 (if I get one).
     
  8. LSUtigers03 macrumors 68020

    LSUtigers03

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    #8
    When mywi is updated for iOS4 will you have to buy it again if you get the iPhone 4? I was under the impression that jailbroken apps are tied to the device themselves not an account like appstore apps.
     
  9. fishkorp macrumors 68020

    fishkorp

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    #9
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7E18 Safari/528.16)

    If you bought it via Rock you can transfer your purchases.
     
  10. bripab007 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    #10
    No, in Cydia, your purchases are tied to an Amazon or Google account (possibly Facebook Connect now, I can't recall) so that you can re-download w/o re-purchasing if you switch phones.
     
  11. melman101 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
  12. Goodeye macrumors 6502a

    Goodeye

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    #12
    If you originally bought it on Cydia when it was on there, and this device is connected to your "cydia" account then you should be able to I would assume, that is unless the maker decides to charge for the update, in that case everyone on 4.0 would have to repay.
     

Share This Page