iOS4 on 3Gs iPhone: a good idea?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Soundhound, Aug 24, 2010.

  1. Soundhound macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    #1
    Does it work? Is it stable? Should I do it? What say ye?
     
  2. Surely Guest

    Surely

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #2
    3GS, right?

    It works. It's stable. But it's a little jumpy/laggy.

    That was my experience before I sold it.
     
  3. trekkie604 macrumors 65816

    trekkie604

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
  4. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #4
    There haven't been that many reports of iOS 4 issues on the 3GS
     
  5. style macrumors member

    style

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    #5
    It works fine but will make u want the 4 because usually apps in the 3rd page of multitasking have to force quit due to only having 256MB RAM ;)
     
  6. VladM macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #6
    No, it isn't. It's not any slower than with 3.x.x.
     
  7. Ashin macrumors 6502a

    Ashin

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #7
    Is some bugs that can cause rapid battery drain, but maybe Apple will fix that, also the slightly laggy menus on some occasions are apparently fixed in 4.1
     
  8. m3coolpix macrumors 6502a

    m3coolpix

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    #8
    4.0.1 working very nicely for me.

    Even JB'n running Winterboard (Aqwoah theme), MCleaner, Backgrounder, SBSettings, and Activator, it's snappy enough for me and no 'sad iphone' screens.

    However, yesterday I added Lockinfo, and started having the sad iphone screens a lot, so I've deleted it this morning.

    Although....if you are not already JB'n, and have your SHSHs stored, you'll be installing 4.0.2 the standard way with iTunes. 4.0.2 isn't JB capable yet (and probably won't be).
     
  9. Wicked1 macrumors 68040

    Wicked1

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #9
    I have absolutely no trouble, and mine is a 3GS White 32GB model.

    I bought this one last year and upgraded the day it was released and it works fine, just remember it has a slower CPU then the ip4 so it will be a little slower but it is reasonable to use without issues.

    Good Luck
     
  10. Soundhound thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    #10
    Thanks everybody! Keep em coming, I'd love to hear more.

    I won't be jailbreaking, so I'll avoid any issues related to that. So far the only scary problem in this list so far is:

    What does that mean, and has anyone else experienced that?
     
  11. KentuckyHouse macrumors 68020

    KentuckyHouse

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Location:
    Lexington, KY.
    #11
    I haven't had any problems on my 3GS (I'm still on iOS4 and jailbroken).

    I did notice that my battery life had dropped a bit after jailbreaking a few weeks ago, so I did the whole run the battery down until the phone dies and charge to 100%, and now the battery life is fantastic.

    But since you're not planning to jailbreak, you shouldn't have any problems at all (not that you'd have any if you did decide to jailbreak). Before the jailbreak was out and I was running the phone stock with iOS4, I didn't have a single problem. No lagging, no dragging, nothing. The new OS really works well on the 3GS and the amount of memory on the 3GS seems to be very sufficient.

    :D
     
  12. Aucun Express macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    #12
    iOS 4 on 3GS: Yes.
    iOS 4 on 3G: Big hesitation.
     
  13. VulchR macrumors 68020

    VulchR

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Location:
    Scotland
    #13
    I've had no issues whatsoever with running iOS4 on my 3GS. It works a charm. As for running out of RAM, iOS manages memory in this regard by shutting down apps when it needs more RAM memory.
     
  14. Surely Guest

    Surely

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #14
    Who are you to tell me how it worked on my iPhone? Were you there, looking over my shoulder, as I used it? :rolleyes:
     
  15. Jhanson09 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    kansas city, mo
    #15
    Your exactly right. if you would of had the black 16gb model tho, you would of been screwed.
     
  16. Ballis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #16
    my experience with iOS4 on 3GS was poor. worse battery and laggy jerky interface just to get poor mans multitasking due to the lack of ram. i would have reverted instantly had I not had the need for dual exchange accounts.
     
  17. KentuckyHouse macrumors 68020

    KentuckyHouse

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Location:
    Lexington, KY.
    #17
    Really? Read my post above and hint, hint...I've got a 16gb 3GS.

    No, OP, you wouldn't be screwed running iOS4 on a 16gb 3GS. In fact, it's apparent that Jhandson09 has absolutely no idea how phones work, and thus shouldn't be contributing (if that's what you want to call it) to this conversation.

    I say go for it. I think you'll like iOS4 on your 3GS.
     
  18. WhatAmI macrumors 6502a

    WhatAmI

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    #18
    Dude, he made an attempt to be funny, but failed.
     
  19. VladM macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #19
    I'm the guy who tells you to stop talking rubbish. ;)
     
  20. Ashin macrumors 6502a

    Ashin

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #20
    Best bet to make iOS4 run well on a 3GS is to install the Firmware, then set up phone as new, and don't use any backups etc for settings
     
  21. KentuckyHouse macrumors 68020

    KentuckyHouse

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Location:
    Lexington, KY.
    #21
    Ha, ha...yeah, if that's what he was going for, then it was definitely a FAIL. Oh well...
     
  22. VulchR macrumors 68020

    VulchR

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Location:
    Scotland
    #22
    I didn't do this and my 3GS works fine. No doubt this depends on the set of apps installed. I'd try just doing the update as normal and if that doesn't work then setup as new.
     
  23. hansiedejong macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Location:
    The Netherlands, Europe
    #23
    Here it works prefect on a 3GS. No probs at all, just working.
     
  24. Ballis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #24
    Yea, I retract my previous statement. This changes everything and improved my phone ALOT!
     
  25. m3coolpix macrumors 6502a

    m3coolpix

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    #25
    Second both these statements.....

    The only thing that's a PITA about 'setting up as new' is that with many of the games, you lose your 'place' of where you were and/or high scores. Like Angry Birds, Real Racing, etc. I have to tell myself it's only a game anyway. :D

    Most of the business class apps don't have this problem with switching from one major OS upgrade to the next, as many have an external way to backup and restore the data without using the iTunes process.
     

Share This Page