IOS5 app store problem

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by Dingo Dave 69, Apr 23, 2012.

  1. Dingo Dave 69 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    #1
    Recently I have had a problem on my 4s where I go into the app store, then the screen goes black with the rotating circle like its about to turn off and then it reverts to the lock screen. Once unlocked it works fine. I would say this happens 1 out of 10 times. Anyone else noticed this?
     
  2. nineteenatetwo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    #2
    That's the home screen crashing. Is it just the AppStore it happens with?
     
  3. Dingo Dave 69 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    #3
    It's the only thing it has happened. Is this a known bug?
     
  4. Arelunde macrumors 6502a

    Arelunde

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Location:
    CA Central Coast
    #4
    Try doing a hard reset - push/hold home and power button until white apple appears (ignore anything else that shows on the screen until then), let go. Often this will take care of weirdness.

    Might have to do it more than once and it should be done periodically, especially if you've made a lot of changes or downloaded/deleted a bunch of apps.

    However, if this doesn't work, check to see how many apps you have open (double click the home button). If there are a LOT of them showing, touch/hold one of them until they jiggle, touch the "-" sign to close out all but those you are currently using. Check this periodically.

    The third possibility is one of your recently downloaded apps may not be playing nice with either the iOS or other apps. If none of the above work, delete your most recent apps until the issue goes away. Then reload the apps and watch if it shows up after each is added. PITA, but sometimes the only way to identify an offender.
     
  5. FlatlinerG macrumors 6502a

    FlatlinerG

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #5

    A "hard reset" is only a valid step if the device is frozen or unresponsive. It's like pulling the power cord from your computer just because safari keeps quitting.

    Clear out the multitask menu and just power cycle it normally instead. Also, make sure you've updated to iOS 5.1
     
  6. Arelunde macrumors 6502a

    Arelunde

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Location:
    CA Central Coast
    #6
    I disagree with your view - the hard reset allows the iOS to do essential troubleshooting as part of it's startup cycle. Often weirdness can be settled by doing this ... and you are right that it's somewhat akin to pulling the power cord, etc, which is also occasionally necessary on a PC and for the same reason.

    This is good advice, but if it doesn't solve the problem, the hard reset would be the next step. If that doesn't work, a person may be facing the dreaded full reset.
     
  7. FlatlinerG macrumors 6502a

    FlatlinerG

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #7

    Occasionally necessary is exactly right; however, it is still also ONLY the correct step if the device is frozen or unresponsive. It doesn't "allow the iOS to do essential troubleshooting", it shuts the device off without warning and can potentially harm the device and it's software further.

    Device is frozen/unresponsive, reset it.
    All other issues, it can be doing more harm than good where clearing the multitask and power cycling it will be much better for the OS and accomplish the same task, better.


    Again, clearing the multitask and power cycling is the preferred method as resetting the device will not be a useful troubleshooting step unless the device is frozen or unresponsive.

    Resetting the device for troubleshooting was maybe part of the troubleshooting for older iPod's, but any of the iOS devices benefit as much from it as your computer does when you either A) press and hold the power button until it shuts off, or B) pull the power cord every time you want to shut down.
     
  8. PNutts macrumors 601

    PNutts

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, US
    #8
    Sorry, a hard reset should not be used except as described by FlatlinerG. Any essential troubleshooting it does would be to clean up from the hard reset. And don't pull the plug on a PC either. ;)
     

Share This Page