iPad ios6 beta 4 app store (not fully working)

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by FoxTC, Aug 12, 2012.

  1. FoxTC macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    #1
    Featured page not showing cover flow section at top.

    On the App info page the "Top In-App Purchases", "Developer Page" & "Update History" buttons don't work at all.

    iPad 2 32gb in the UK.

    Any way to solve this? I've tried full reboot, disconnect wifi and reconnect... Nothing will get the new app store working.

    Please help, thanks,

    Fox... :)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. djrod macrumors 65816

    djrod

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Location:
    Madrid - Spain
    #2
    The solution would be don't trying beta software that is prone to bugs!
     
  3. FoxTC thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    #3
    I dont expect a beta to work without bugs, that kinda goes without saying.

    The idea of posting my issue is to see if anyone else is experiencing the same problem and to see if they have a work round or if I'm only one of a handful of people getting the same issue, or to see if its a geographical issue, or... need I go on?

    Any constructive feedback would be very appreciated.

    Many thanks.
     
  4. mrapplegate macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #4
    I'm not seeing that issue. I could not find that exact app since I am in the US, but the apps I sampled have allowed me to view Version Notes, in app purchases, etc.
    I suggest filing a bug report.
     
  5. kiwiboi87 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    try a restore of the OS,
    wipe and restore from back up,
    might help you
     
  6. FoxTC thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    #6
    Thanks for your post mrapplegate

    Thanks for your post mrapplegate,
    I will look into how to file a bug report. Its all apps for me not that specific one, also see that there's no cover flow style top section to the featured page... See attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. FoxTC thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    #7
    Might be worth a try

    Hi, that might be worth a try if nothing else works, it'll be interesting to see if anyone else is seeing the same issue. Thanks dude...
     
  8. mrapplegate macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #8
    https://bugreport.apple.com/cgi-bin/WebObjects/RadarWeb.woa/wa/signIn

    File it there.
    You do seem to be missing a lot. Like someone else said maybe a reinstall is in order.
     
  9. FoxTC thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    #9
    How best to do wipe/ reinstall?

    To be honest I'm not sure of the steps to remove ios6 and reinstall it, will I lose everything? When I upgraded from 5.1.1 straight to 6b3 everything remain intacted, I then updated to beta 4 ... My issue was on beta 3 too btw.
     
  10. kiwiboi87 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #10
    dowload the ipsw file from the developer page,
    plug your ipad into iTunes, control click restore. and select the ipsw file
    make sure you back up first ;)

    im guessing your a paid developer?
     
  11. FoxTC thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    #11
    Yes I am...

    But... I remember reading that the upgrade will only work on iso5.1.1 will I be able to from 6b4? Or, am I gonna have to dowbgrade to 5.1.1 first before I can reinstall?
     
  12. kiwiboi87 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #12
    as ong as your device is registered, you wont need to downgrade back to 5.1.1
    just download the ios 6 beta 4 file, and control click restore.

    you wont lose anything,
     
  13. mrapplegate macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #13
    Backup your data. Re-install. Then restore from backup. Nothing lost.
     
  14. Lukkee24 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Location:
    London
    #14
    The buttons don't work for me either, with a random app I just selected. I'm also in the UK with an iPad 2.
     
  15. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #15
    Shift + restore to 5.1.1 (no DFU needed) and set up as new. Then shift + restore to 6.0 beta 4.
     
  16. milesjohnson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    #16
    is anyone else not able to view all the reviews in the app store/itunes store? It only shows the first 5 reviews and they're all from when the app first came out, no updated reviews. Anyone else have this problem or would a simple restore fix this. I find this quite annoying (even though its only a small problem lol :p)
     
  17. FoxTC thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    #17
    Hi Lukkee24,

    Do you have coverflow style top on featured page?

    I tried full reinstall last night twice once from iTunes Backup and once from iCloud backup... Mine is still the same.
     
  18. Lukkee24 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Location:
    London
    #18
    Nope, mines just like yours.
     
  19. FoxTC thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    #19
    So this could be a UK issue...

    Common elements are:

    Device: iPad 2
    Location: UK

    I wonder if we can get someone on here to confirm they have it working correctly in UK and/or on an iPad 2...

    Did you start at ios6 beta 1 or go from 5.1.1 to beta3 or 4 and did your start as "New iPad" or restore a backup?

    I went from 5.1.1 to 6b3 then upgraded to 6b4. I restored a backup each time.
     
  20. Defender2010, Aug 13, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2012

    Defender2010 macrumors 68030

    Defender2010

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Location:
    England
    #20
    My App Store is also minus the coverflow (iPhone and iPad) and i tried setting up as a new phone but it did not solve the issue. I feel it is a UK issue, it's been like this since beta 1. I restored and signed in with my US account and it showed the coverflow,,,,so that's my conclusion...UK issue. I guess it will be solved once iOS 6 comes out of beta.
     
  21. FoxTC thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    #21
    Mystery Solved!

    Thanks for your post, I think that's pretty conclusive, do you think I should bother to raise a bug report? I'm sure they are aware of it if it's a geographical issue, shame they don't have it on a list of know issues so people like me, you and Lukkee don't have to go round and round trying to get to the bottom of an issue like this.
     
  22. Defender2010 macrumors 68030

    Defender2010

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Location:
    England
    #22
    Report it, what harm can it do? I did already....iTunes is also the same (missing coverflow) actually. I am sure they will fix it soon upon release.
     
  23. FoxTC thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    #23
    Cover flow is missing in my iTunes too, I have reported the bug, thanks to everyone that replied to this issue, if anyone in the UK has a fully working app store, please let us know!

    Thanks again,

    Fox...
     
  24. andybno1, Aug 13, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2012

    andybno1 macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #24
    coverflow is present in the US app store but not in the UK one which makes me think for time being it's a US only thing

    EDIT: I have both iPhone 4 and the new iPad
     
  25. Lukkee24 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Location:
    London
    #25
    Yeah I restored from a backup when installing iOS6 b1, and then just updated over the air.
    Had a feeling it may have been a geographical issue.
     

Share This Page