iPad ios6 beta 4 app store (not fully working)

FoxTC

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 12, 2012
10
0
Featured page not showing cover flow section at top.

On the App info page the "Top In-App Purchases", "Developer Page" & "Update History" buttons don't work at all.

iPad 2 32gb in the UK.

Any way to solve this? I've tried full reboot, disconnect wifi and reconnect... Nothing will get the new app store working.

Please help, thanks,

Fox... :)
 

Attachments

djrod

macrumors 65816
Sep 16, 2008
1,009
25
Madrid - Spain
Featured page not showing cover flow section at top.

On the App info page the "Top In-App Purchases", "Developer Page" & "Update History" buttons don't work at all.

iPad 2 32gb in the UK.

Any way to solve this? I've tried full reboot, disconnect wifi and reconnect... Nothing will get the new app store working.

Please help, thanks,

Fox... :)
The solution would be don't trying beta software that is prone to bugs!
 

FoxTC

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 12, 2012
10
0
I dont expect a beta to work without bugs, that kinda goes without saying.

The solution would be don't trying beta software that is prone to bugs!
The idea of posting my issue is to see if anyone else is experiencing the same problem and to see if they have a work round or if I'm only one of a handful of people getting the same issue, or to see if its a geographical issue, or... need I go on?

Any constructive feedback would be very appreciated.

Many thanks.
 

mrapplegate

macrumors 68030
Feb 26, 2011
2,818
8
Cincinnati, OH
The idea of posting my issue is to see if anyone else is experiencing the same problem and to see if they have a work round or if I'm only one of a handful of people getting the same issue, or to see if its a geographical issue, or... need I go on?

Any constructive feedback would be very appreciated.

Many thanks.
I'm not seeing that issue. I could not find that exact app since I am in the US, but the apps I sampled have allowed me to view Version Notes, in app purchases, etc.
I suggest filing a bug report.
 

FoxTC

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 12, 2012
10
0
Thanks for your post mrapplegate

I'm not seeing that issue. I could not find that exact app since I am in the US, but the apps I sampled have allowed me to view Version Notes, in app purchases, etc.
I suggest filing a bug report.
Thanks for your post mrapplegate,
I will look into how to file a bug report. Its all apps for me not that specific one, also see that there's no cover flow style top section to the featured page... See attached.
 

Attachments

FoxTC

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 12, 2012
10
0
Might be worth a try

try a restore of the OS,
wipe and restore from back up,
might help you
Hi, that might be worth a try if nothing else works, it'll be interesting to see if anyone else is seeing the same issue. Thanks dude...
 

mrapplegate

macrumors 68030
Feb 26, 2011
2,818
8
Cincinnati, OH

FoxTC

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 12, 2012
10
0

kiwiboi87

macrumors 6502
Aug 30, 2011
367
0
New Zealand
To be honest I'm not sure of the steps to remove ios6 and reinstall it, will I lose everything? When I upgraded from 5.1.1 straight to 6b3 everything remain intacted, I then updated to beta 4 ... My issue was on beta 3 too btw.
dowload the ipsw file from the developer page,
plug your ipad into iTunes, control click restore. and select the ipsw file
make sure you back up first ;)

im guessing your a paid developer?
 

FoxTC

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 12, 2012
10
0
Yes I am...

dowload the ipsw file from the developer page,
plug your ipad into iTunes, control click restore. and select the ipsw file
make sure you back up first ;)

im guessing your a paid developer?
But... I remember reading that the upgrade will only work on iso5.1.1 will I be able to from 6b4? Or, am I gonna have to dowbgrade to 5.1.1 first before I can reinstall?
 

kiwiboi87

macrumors 6502
Aug 30, 2011
367
0
New Zealand
But... I remember reading that the upgrade will only work on iso5.1.1 will I be able to from 6b4? Or, am I gonna have to dowbgrade to 5.1.1 first before I can reinstall?
as ong as your device is registered, you wont need to downgrade back to 5.1.1
just download the ios 6 beta 4 file, and control click restore.

you wont lose anything,
 

mrapplegate

macrumors 68030
Feb 26, 2011
2,818
8
Cincinnati, OH
To be honest I'm not sure of the steps to remove ios6 and reinstall it, will I lose everything? When I upgraded from 5.1.1 straight to 6b3 everything remain intacted, I then updated to beta 4 ... My issue was on beta 3 too btw.
Backup your data. Re-install. Then restore from backup. Nothing lost.
 

batting1000

macrumors 604
Sep 4, 2011
7,223
1,397
Florida
But... I remember reading that the upgrade will only work on iso5.1.1 will I be able to from 6b4? Or, am I gonna have to dowbgrade to 5.1.1 first before I can reinstall?
Shift + restore to 5.1.1 (no DFU needed) and set up as new. Then shift + restore to 6.0 beta 4.
 

milesjohnson

macrumors newbie
May 30, 2012
27
0
is anyone else not able to view all the reviews in the app store/itunes store? It only shows the first 5 reviews and they're all from when the app first came out, no updated reviews. Anyone else have this problem or would a simple restore fix this. I find this quite annoying (even though its only a small problem lol :p)
 

FoxTC

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 12, 2012
10
0
Hi Lukkee24,

The buttons don't work for me either, with a random app I just selected. I'm also in the UK with an iPad 2.
Do you have coverflow style top on featured page?

I tried full reinstall last night twice once from iTunes Backup and once from iCloud backup... Mine is still the same.
 

FoxTC

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 12, 2012
10
0
So this could be a UK issue...

Nope, mines just like yours.
Common elements are:

Device: iPad 2
Location: UK

I wonder if we can get someone on here to confirm they have it working correctly in UK and/or on an iPad 2...

Did you start at ios6 beta 1 or go from 5.1.1 to beta3 or 4 and did your start as "New iPad" or restore a backup?

I went from 5.1.1 to 6b3 then upgraded to 6b4. I restored a backup each time.
 

Defender2010

macrumors 68040
Jun 6, 2010
3,018
901
England
My App Store is also minus the coverflow (iPhone and iPad) and i tried setting up as a new phone but it did not solve the issue. I feel it is a UK issue, it's been like this since beta 1. I restored and signed in with my US account and it showed the coverflow,,,,so that's my conclusion...UK issue. I guess it will be solved once iOS 6 comes out of beta.
 
Last edited:

FoxTC

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 12, 2012
10
0
Mystery Solved!

My App Store is also minus the coverflow (iPhone and iPad) and i tried setting up as a new phone but it did not solve the issue. I feel it is a UK issue, it's been like this since beta 1. I restored and signed in with my US account and it showed the coverflow,,,,so that's my conclusion...UK issue. I guess it will be solved once iOS 6 comes out of beta.
Thanks for your post, I think that's pretty conclusive, do you think I should bother to raise a bug report? I'm sure they are aware of it if it's a geographical issue, shame they don't have it on a list of know issues so people like me, you and Lukkee don't have to go round and round trying to get to the bottom of an issue like this.
 

Defender2010

macrumors 68040
Jun 6, 2010
3,018
901
England
Report it, what harm can it do? I did already....iTunes is also the same (missing coverflow) actually. I am sure they will fix it soon upon release.
 

FoxTC

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 12, 2012
10
0
Report it, what harm can it do? I did already....iTunes is also the same (missing coverflow) actually. I am sure they will fix it soon upon release.
Cover flow is missing in my iTunes too, I have reported the bug, thanks to everyone that replied to this issue, if anyone in the UK has a fully working app store, please let us know!

Thanks again,

Fox...
 

andybno1

macrumors 68040
Nov 6, 2007
3,636
36
Liverpool, UK
coverflow is present in the US app store but not in the UK one which makes me think for time being it's a US only thing

EDIT: I have both iPhone 4 and the new iPad
 
Last edited:

Lukkee24

macrumors 6502a
Sep 20, 2011
518
123
London
Common elements are:

Device: iPad 2
Location: UK

I wonder if we can get someone on here to confirm they have it working correctly in UK and/or on an iPad 2...

Did you start at ios6 beta 1 or go from 5.1.1 to beta3 or 4 and did your start as "New iPad" or restore a backup?

I went from 5.1.1 to 6b3 then upgraded to 6b4. I restored a backup each time.
Yeah I restored from a backup when installing iOS6 b1, and then just updated over the air.
My App Store is also minus the coverflow (iPhone and iPad) and i tried setting up as a new phone but it did not solve the issue. I feel it is a UK issue, it's been like this since beta 1. I restored and signed in with my US account and it showed the coverflow,,,,so that's my conclusion...UK issue. I guess it will be solved once iOS 6 comes out of beta.
Thanks for your post, I think that's pretty conclusive, do you think I should bother to raise a bug report? I'm sure they are aware of it if it's a geographical issue, shame they don't have it on a list of know issues so people like me, you and Lukkee don't have to go round and round trying to get to the bottom of an issue like this.
Had a feeling it may have been a geographical issue.