iOS7 is letting me block callers by country code alone

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by FreeState, Sep 5, 2013.

  1. FreeState macrumors 68000

    FreeState

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #1
    I somehow got on a spam list for an "online pharmacy" that called twice a week for months. They used country code +7 for all their calls. AT&T told me there was nothing they could do.

    I created a spam contact and under phone number put "+7" and nothing else. That was almost 4 weeks ago, not a single call since. Heres to hoping it continues to work with just a country code and no number after it:)
     
  2. ajiuo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    #2
    Its to bad apple didnt add the option to block unkown / blocked numbers :/
     
  3. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #3
    So does that actually work, or is it perhaps a coincidence of some sort?
     
  4. FreeState thread starter macrumors 68000

    FreeState

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #4
    It appears to be working, unless they coincidentally stopped calling me the same day I tried it. I guess the only way to know for sure is to have someone from a blocked country code that you know call you. I don't know anyone to try that with though.
     
  5. darkfiber macrumors 6502a

    darkfiber

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Columbus, OH USA
    #5
    It would be a nice if there was a log somewhere so that you can see when callers on your blocked list called.
     
  6. matttye macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Lincoln, England
    #6
    Or remove it from your block list and see if the calls return.
     
  7. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #7
    Or I guess block calls from your country (like +1 for US typically) and see if that pretty much blocks all usual calls.
     
  8. bollyboy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Location:
    Manchester - UK
    #8
    Is it not possible to create a contact as blocked/unknown or does a number have to be associated with the name.

    Sorry if it's a stupid question but i'm on IOS6 so have no idea how it works.
     
  9. bushido Suspended

    bushido

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    Germany
    #9
    yea its strange, like why would u even block people you know. seems rude ^^

    makes more sense to block unknown numbers
     
  10. GreyOS macrumors 68030

    GreyOS

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    #10
    Think you misunderstand. You can block numbers that you don't have in your contacts list, i.e. the person is unknown, but the number is known. But you can't block numbers that come up as 'Unknown' or 'Blocked' where the number is unknown.
     
  11. simplymuzik3 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    #11
    You don't need to create a contact entry. Just to the the Phone app, tap the blue "i" to the right of the number, scroll to the bottom and press Block.
     
  12. FreeState thread starter macrumors 68000

    FreeState

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #12
    yes but if you want to block just the country code you do need to create a contact - unless you know of a way to call yourself and have the number show up just as just the country code.
     
  13. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #13
    So I've just added a contact with a phone number that is simply "1", which is the country code for US. I blocked that contact. I then called my phone from another phone (with a US number) that was able to call it before, and even with that contact being blocked the call still came through fine. I tried it with the phone number being "+1" for the contact, and had the same result. So, I'm not quite sure that this actually works.
     

Share This Page