IP Configuration Error/Can't access internet with two macs at once

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by hes792, Dec 27, 2009.

1. hes792 macrumors newbie

Hi, I'm very new to this, but I will try to be as detailed as I can.

Background Info:
    • I connect to the internet wirelessly via an Airport Extreme and an Airport Express
    • Between my roommates and I, we have one macbook, two macbook pros, and an iMac G5 desktop

The problem is as follows: whenever I try to connect to the internet with two computers at once I receive an error message. The error message states:

IP Configuration
    99.141.60.56 in use by 00:23:6c:82:7c:07, DHCP Server 192.168.0.1

The only way I can connect to the internet is if one computer is connected, and all the other computers have their airport turned off.

Now, I've done some work and I understand the message, I just do not know how to fix it. "DHCP Server 192.168.0.1" refers to the server both computers are on, and "99.141.60.56" refers to the IP address both computers are attempting to connect to (which I know is a big part of the problem). "0:23:6c:82:7c:07" is the ID of my macbook (note: I received this message while using the desktop computer).

One last note: I have always been able to connect to the internet with multiple computers before a week ago when I began receiving this message. Also, I began receiving the messages right after my roommate used "Remote Desktop Connection" to connect to his work email and work from home. Is it possible they (they being my roommate's work company) set up some sort of barricade or something?

Thanks so much for listening and for whatever help I may receive!

2. crewrules101 macrumors member