iP4 JB Qs - Any Guidance Much Appreciated

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by leukman, May 10, 2011.

1. leukman macrumors newbie

Okay, newbie here – need jailbreak help. Been reading up on it as much as I can, but still have questions—hope you all can help.

Here’s my dillio – my daughter just started driving, and unfortunately I have a need to keep her honest. I want to install tracking app on her phone, but I need to jailbreak it first. I know the app won’t be detectable, but I’m worried if she’ll be able to tell if the phone’s been jailbroken.

The app I’m looking at (SpyBubble) lets you hide the Cydia icon on the springboard (by dialing a 5 digit code), but I’m worried she’ll be able to tell other ways (for example, I believe greenpoison reboots with an untethered JB showing a skull/apple thing)

Okay, so she’s got an iP4, but is on iOS 4.2.1 because she never updates, so I’m assuming that’s good.

I’ve already tried using greenpoison on her phone once, but got stuck in DFU and had to read these forum threads to figure out how to get out of it – and what I’d read suggested using redsnow instead.

So I’ve looked into using redsnow because as far as I know that doesn’t alter the boot icon and still provides untethered break in 4.2.1 (please confirm?). But I’m not sure about what version I should be using (dependant on the baseband version????), and when I open the app on my PC it asks for the IPSW – can’t say I’ve been able to figure out what that is or where I get the right file for her current firmware.

Any help or suggestions would be great – I’m obviously new to the JB process, but would appreciate any guidance. Something other than or better than greenpoison or redsnow I should be looking at?

Thanks -

2. labman macrumors 604

labman