IP6 stuck on logo screen with iOS9 Beta

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by StarShot, Jul 26, 2015.

  1. StarShot macrumors 6502

    StarShot

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    #1
    This morning my iPhone was acting a little strange. It wouldn't recognize my charger cord for starters. About 1/2 hour later I pulled it out to make a call and noticed it was on the boot up logo Apple. I've tried holding holding the power button to turn it off with no effect. I then tried holding the power button WITH home button for a hard reset, also with nothing changing. Occasionally the screen briefly flashes while still displaying the Apple logo.

    I do have a backup in iTunes, but iTunes doesn't recognize that the phone is plugged in. Anyone got a idea as to how to reboot my phone. I certain in a while the battery will die. Whether it can will then be a total brick is the question. Other than some magic fix here, it would seem my only option is to head for a Genius Bar. The first thing they're going to tell me is that they DON'T support iOS9.

    Maybe I'll just play dumb and let them figure out how to reboot my IP.

    ANY help would certainly be appreciated.
     
  2. dearfriendx macrumors 6502

    dearfriendx

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #2
    You'll have to put the phone into DFU mode and restore to your backup in iTunes
     
  3. StarShot thread starter macrumors 6502

    StarShot

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    #3
    I did that via the following...

    DFU Mode
    Entering DFU Mode on iPhone, iPad or iPod touch
    1. Plug your device into your computer with a USB cable.
    2. Turn off the device.
    3. Hold the Power button for 3 seconds.
    4. Hold the Home and Power buttons for 10 seconds.
    5. Release the Power button but keep holding the Home button.
    6. After about 15 seconds you will be alerted by iTunes saying that it has detected a device in Recovery Mode.
    Make sure the device screen is blank and no logos are present

    It's unclear whether iTunes should be up and running while doing this procedure. I did get through step 5, but don't see my devise in iTunes. Doing another procedure, I got to the screen that shows an arrow pointing up to iTunes, but there again, iTunes did not recognize my iPhone. I'm going to futz around with it a bit more and then try to turn it off.

    Sooner or later, the battery is going to go dead as I don't think it's getting charged.
     
  4. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #4
    As long as your device is out of order, genius bar guys should not need to worry much about whether you are using iOS 9 or not. Maybe they will figure out, maybe not. I don't know.

    And seems that DFU is not working, it is worth trying to use a different cable to connect your phone. Purchasing a new one is a choice, although new cable is always pricey.
     
  5. dearfriendx macrumors 6502

    dearfriendx

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #5
    Yes, as stated afterward, if DFU mode does not work it might be your cable, could be the USB port the cable is plugged into, etc.

    DFU mode is a guarantee to work. If it does not, your device is defective and you'll have to get some diagnostic work done at a Genius Bar sadly.
     
  6. !!! macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    #6
    If you have to public beta, I don't think they would care. You should have just brought it into the Apple Store immediately, instead of putting it into DFU, and possibly loosing your data.
     
  7. StarShot thread starter macrumors 6502

    StarShot

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    #7
    Thank you for the post. I have a walk-in appointment at the Genius Bar for 5PM. As a backup, I have a scheduled appointment on Tuesday, but hate the thought of losing my phone for 2 more days.
     
  8. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #8
    Generally, one reservation should be enough. But additional reservation would help providing more feedback. Good catch.
     
  9. StarShot thread starter macrumors 6502

    StarShot

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    #9
    You're probably right. I couldn't get an appointment until 2 days from now so I tried a "walk-in". The guys at the Genius bar took a look at the phone and said it was totally screwed up. So after about 10 minutes they gave me a new (reconditioned?) I'm in the process of reloading my apps. One thing that slight torques me off is that Apple asks for password of old accounts such as Comcast which I haven't used in years. Without the Comcast password, it looks like I may lose a few apps and music since without this data, the setup program said those apps/date would not be transferred to my new IP6.

    The short version is that I'm now out of the beta iOS 9.x. I'll never try another beta phone program.
     
  10. !!! macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    #10
    It not not have been the beta program. You phone might've had faulty hardware.
    Your new phone, if it came in a white box with no other accessories (cord & earbuds), then you're getting a refurbished iPhone.
     
  11. techspin macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    #11
    Are your backups encrypted? If not, then yes you'll have to enter passwords for your apps.
     
  12. StarShot thread starter macrumors 6502

    StarShot

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    #12
    I'm thinking it was faulty hardware too from what the Genius said and yes, it was in a white box. Refurbished is fine with me as I'm selling it when the new phones come out.
     

Share This Page