IPA builds and testing builds in iOS Simulator?

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by windrider07, Dec 27, 2013.

  1. windrider07 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #1
    Wanted to ask this on StackOverflow but apparently it seems as though most of my questions get bashed and I get banned from posting. Very strict site. You have to be severely close to your solution before you post. If you post openly, they bash you for being an idiot. Any ways, hopefully macrumors can do better.

    2 questions:

    1. Is there a free way to create and distribute a .ipa file from xcode 5? I read that it costs $99 per year for an apple developer's certificate, but do you really have to pay for it?

    2. I tested a source code on the iOS Simulator that comes with xcode and I can't seem to move the main object in the game. It is supposed to bounce up and down and move left to right from platform to platform but I can't seem to click on it or move it. I have the feeling that I have to test the game on an actual iOS device to play it because it might involve tilting motion instead of actual tapping/clicking. Is there a way that I can "tilt" the simulator?

    Weird questions but I just want some confirmation. Thanks.
     
  2. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #2
    Without jailbreaking, yes, you have to pay to distribute your app.

    First: what source code? What app were you testing? Please try to be as specific as possible.

    Second: I don't believe it's possible to "tilt" the simulator. This is another reason that it's important to test apps on real devices before distributing them.
     
  3. lastcall macrumors member

    lastcall

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    #3
    It sounds like you don't have Apple developer's account or a even an iPhone device.
    You need at least both if you're going to develop iOS apps as a serious developer.

    If you expect some return, then you need to put a little investment into what you're doing.
    Don't be so cheap.
     
  4. windrider07 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #4
    I'm not trying to be cheap. I was just curious. I'm more than willing to invest to test my codes out. Thanks for the replies though.
     
  5. ArtOfWarfare macrumors 604

    ArtOfWarfare

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    #5
    StackOverflow is the single best Q&A site I have ever used. If you posted these questions on StackOverflow, they would have been closed because they duplicate existing questions. If you had searched, you would have found.
     
  6. windrider07 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #6
    I do a lot of searching but a lot of questions I find are:

    1. Severely Outdated, which implies that things may have changed
    2. Similar to what I need help with but still inches away.

    Either way, StackOverflow is an awesome resource. Problem is....it's the type of site where people literally expect you to have everything NEARLY solved. They don't want a noobie asking questions. They want a pro who has code already made but has a minor error that is mind boggling. A lot of people have that problem too and you will either have people who bash you and tell you to do more research or people who will actually help you and give you some really good tips with code samples.
     

Share This Page