iPad 1st Gen Stuck on Location Services; Cannot Go To Home Screen

Discussion in 'iPad' started by StopDrop'n'Lul, Jun 7, 2012.

  1. StopDrop'n'Lul macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    #1
    First off, sorry if there's already a thread like this before, but I don't think there are problems much like this one.

    So a couple of weeks ago, my little sister updated her iPad, which is a first generation that she won from her middle school two years ago thanks to her GPA, to the latest firmware, yet for some reason, on the Location Services screen the touchscreen isn't responding, and you can't proceed to the next screen (the next button isn't responding).

    Even after resetting, it still takes you to the Location Services screen, no matter what. I don't think we even have that AppleCare booklet (our older sister usually throws away "useless" stuff just to make the house less cluttered), but I think that the warranty is already expired.

    My little sister is going to Spain next week on the 13th, and the blasted thing just won't go to the home screen.
     
  2. jekyl macrumors 6502

    jekyl

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Location:
    Mid-Michigan
    #2
    Have you tried connecting it to iTunes and doing a restore?
     
  3. StopDrop'n'Lul thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
  4. Badrottie Suspended

    Badrottie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #4
    Take it to Apple store before she leave for Spain…Hurry up!
     
  5. StopDrop'n'Lul thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    #5
    That's the problem. There isn't any nearby Apple store. Aren't they usually in urban areas?
     
  6. pat park macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #6
    is it really that difficult to find an Apple store?

    http://www.apple.com/retail/storelist/
     
  7. Rodster macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #7
    I'm with the OP. The nearest Apple Store's is over 2 hours in each direction for me.
     
  8. pat park macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #8
    i hear ya, but its not difficult to search for one. The OP is asking if they are located in Urban areas. Why? Just google it and you'll figure out the closest location.
     
  9. BFizzzle macrumors 68020

    BFizzzle

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Location:
    Austin TX
    #9
    is it really that difficult to not be a jerk?

    you could have easily just given him the link
     
  10. cadetandrew macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    #10
    I'm not 100% sure how the iPad 1st generation is designed, but can you press the home and power button at the same time so it resets?

    I know you can do this on iPhone, but I'm not sure about iPad so I'm kinda just throwing it out there I guess.
     
  11. BFizzzle macrumors 68020

    BFizzzle

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Location:
    Austin TX
    #11

    i think he said he tried resetting it, and it still goes back to the location service screen ;)
     
  12. cadetandrew macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    #12
    Hmm... Can it be out into restore mode and THEN restored?
     
  13. pat park macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #13
    no, it's not that difficult. Obviously, you have little difficulty in that area yourself.

    If you want to hold his hand and guide him to the nearest Apple store, go ahead. Let's all encourage everybody to ask instead of searching themselves. I got a ton of grief in the past for asking questions, I could have easily found the answer myself.
     
  14. BFizzzle macrumors 68020

    BFizzzle

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Location:
    Austin TX
    #14
    Lol giving a link for him to look it up isn't holding his hand. So people were jerks to you...so that gives you the right to be one? Makes sense... :confused:

    I wasn't being a jerk, just pointing out you could give him the like with out being rude.
     
  15. pat park macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #15
    funny how when you're actually being a jerk (t o me) you can't see it.

    okay for you to be just as much of a jerk as me. I see. Okay for you, not okay for me or others. Get off your self righteous soap box. Please, we do not need you to point out when we don't meet your self imposed standard of good manners. Keep it to yourself. You wasted as much bandwidth as I did. Get over yourself.
     
  16. StopDrop'n'Lul thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    #16
    There's one in Fayette Mall in Lexington, but it's an hour-long drive and my mother doesn't want to waste that much gas.
     
  17. Feed Me macrumors 6502a

    Feed Me

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Location:
    Location Location
    #17
    I find it very hard to believe an iTunes restore doesn't fix it.
    Try again. Don't restore from a backup... Do a complete fresh wipe.
     
  18. StopDrop'n'Lul thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    #18
    What do you mean by "fresh wipe"? If you mean "restore as a new iPad", I already tried. No luck.
     
  19. StopDrop'n'Lul, Jun 11, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2012

    StopDrop'n'Lul thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    #19
    Sorry for double-posting, but I forgot to add:
    When you hit the home button, a pop-up would say "Setup Incomplete", yet neither the buttons "Start Over" and "Continue" are responsive. Also, the power slider doesn't move.

    The only responses I can get is by hitting Disable Location Services and "What is Location Services". Nothing else.

    Bump, by the way.

    Update: Looks like I'm too late. My little sister has left for her Spain trip. I sure hope she doesn't get bored over there.

    Stupid Apple for neglecting the original iPad...
     
  20. wajid macrumors newbie

    wajid

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    #20
    i am having a same problem with my ipad my daughter was playing with please help me how to fix this problem
     

Share This Page