iPad 2 and T-Mobile.

Discussion in 'iPad Hacks' started by Zedero, Jul 7, 2011.

1. Zedero, Jul 7, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2011

Zedero macrumors newbie

Hello, as you might know, you can cut your T-Mobile sim card into a micro sim. The thing is, I keep getting told it will not work and the data will not be on the sim card and will not work. I want to know this, since I am pretty new to Apple products..I have an IPad 2 4.3.3 jail broken. Is there a app/gadget that enables 3G service without a sim card (I have a 3G iPad). I have unlimited 3G on my contract. I want to use this on my IPad somehow, without a sim card. Tl;dr, I want the 3G I already own, just on my iPad. It is very annoying to carry my phone and connect to it by using it as a router. Please tell me if there is anything on the 3rd party app list that does this. If you have any questions about what I am asking, please ask me. :)

2. Chorx macrumors regular

I'm not completely sure about this, but speaking as if it were a phone. Your data connection comes through a modem, your modem operates on a completely separate 'firmware' called a baseband. The baseband has no real influence on whether or not your device is jailbroken or not, but no software that has no access to the baseband, can't modify or write to the baseband, so until you can write to, or modify a baseband, you have to play by it's rules. We didn't break the ipad 2s baseband, thus we don't have an unlock to make it function outside of its ATT rule set. That's how I understand it at least, it's just an educated theory, and I could be completely wrong, I'd also love to hear more how basebands work, and if I was even close.

3. Bloodkip macrumors newbie