ipad 2 camera over exposure indicator

Discussion in 'iPad' started by kfridge, Apr 22, 2011.

  1. kfridge macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    #1
    hi...

    testing the video on the ipad 2 the other day...seems ok for quick clips, but is there a way to stop it actually recording the over exposure indicator, i.e.when it detects that the scene is over exposed, the parts that are flash - wouldn't be a problem if this didn't make it into the final recorded video!
     
  2. XXFirefighter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    #2
    That's interesting that you called it a overexposure indicator. Why do you think that's what it is? I know what you mean my nikon does it, but there's been threads here saying it's a camera flaw. But if it makes it to the final product, it would be a flaw and not a indicator...
     
  3. kfridge thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    #3
    that was just the best way i could think of to describe it at the time, partly, like you, my dslr does the same thing when indicating an over exposed part of a shot...I couldnt find any other threads when i searched...perhaps i was searching for the wrong thing!

    if its a flaw then is it with all ipads or a batch? could if be fixed via software?
     
  4. Ecoh macrumors 6502a

    Ecoh

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    It's a flaw. Mine doesn't do that for video or photos. If you take it to Apple Store they will replace it for you.
     
  5. kfridge thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    #5
    thanks for the replies people...will have to nip to an apple store and see what they say, only problem is that the ipad was bought through work - they should swap ok though hopefully, otherwise it will be a delay if i need to send it back via the educational reseller
     
  6. maclaptop macrumors 65816

    maclaptop

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Location:
    Western Hemisphere
    #6
    Remember this devices number one priority is not photography.
     
  7. kfridge thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    #7
    nope, and i have a dedicated video camera and dslr for proper video and pictures...i was just testing the video camera when i noticed the problem, if it's not supposed to do it then it needs replacing, wouldnt want that fault appearing whilst using facetime or skype!
     

Share This Page