iPad 2 for high school student?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by warghh, Oct 27, 2011.

1. warghh macrumors newbie

Hi all! I'm new. Evidently. So I'm a high school student in Australia, and next year I'll be moving up to senior years where I start my HSC, which is what you do in Australia for a score that will get you into uni. I'm not too sure about the places that people are from here, so yeah, brief background.

I'm considering getting an iPad 2 for my 2 senior years. Since I've never considered this before, so I don't actually know much about them, so I've been googling and the useful info mixed in with the outdated stuff is pretty confusing. (I've also always used windows and the only apple product I own is an iPod nano 2G)

Mostly, I want to be able to load some textbook pdfs on so I can take it out to read whenever we have family gatherings and my parents want to meet up with their friends, and what not. I've heard that Goodreader is an excellent app for that.

I'm also planning to use it at school in place of my government funded netbook (Lenovo Mini 10) that everyone has because:
    - Netbook is super slow to load up, and wastes 5 minutes of my time each lesson which I could be doing work in
    - Netbook is loaded with Windows 7 and let's just say I've won about 100 games of minesweeper and my win rate is 9%
    - ctrl+tab makes it really easy to play games
    - computer screen is more long than tall, and in maths, it's such a pain to need to scroll up and down in blocks, and when reading pdfs in columns, those blocky scrolling break my concentration
    - the slow switching of apps on the iPad, i.e. more than the 2 seconds needed so that teacher doesn't see, will mean that I won't play games
    - pdfs will be much easier to navigate (based on my experience on a friend's iTouch4)

Based on this, here are my questions:
    1) Is it worth getting the iPad2? If not, why not?