Ipad 2 Ios 6 upgrade on windows 8

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by kleistra, Sep 4, 2012.

1. kleistra macrumors newbie

I'm trying to upgrade my Ipad 2 to IOS 6 b4, but it just states something like "firmware version not compatible". I'm quite sure I have downloaded the correct firmware version, and I've done upgrades on my ipod touch to IOS 6 previously.

Any clue what is wrong? I'm on Windows 8, but that's not a problem, is it?

2. Jman13 macrumors 68000

3. kleistra thread starter macrumors newbie

No, I'm not a developer. I'm a user of beta versions.

4. Jman13 macrumors 68000

I guess I meant, you have a developer account, correct? Otherwise your UDID won't allow you to install a beta.

Though, now I see your iPod touch is on iOS 6, so I assume you've already cleared that hurdle. Sorry I can't help...

5. kleistra thread starter macrumors newbie

Ok, sorry. Thought it was kinda common knowledge that you've been able to do IOS 6-upgrades without being a registered developer all the way through the betas.

Or is that not so on the Ipad 2?

6. Gjwilly macrumors 68030

It was true for beta-1 and then you could always OTA upgrade to the next beta.
    Going straight from iOS5 to beta-4, I don't know.

7. Jab00 macrumors regular

It was working on b3 too but I don't have any clue about b4

8. kleistra thread starter macrumors newbie

Turns out I cant even restore to 5.1 (via Itunes, shift + downloaded firmware)

Anyone to confirm that Windows 8 ain't the probem?

9. ben824, Sep 4, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2012

ben824 macrumors regular

I played around with installing the betas straight from iOS 5.1.1 and it worked on all of them up to beta 3. I did beta 4 OTA so I cannot confirm that it can be done with beta 4. To make sure we are all on the same page I am not a developer but a proud apple user that is just helping add real world usage diagnostics info for apple to use to figure out bugs.