iPad 2 - "No SIM"

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Dangerous Theory, Oct 15, 2011.

  1. Dangerous Theory, Oct 15, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2011

    Dangerous Theory macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    In the past two days my iPad 2 3G has randomly changed the signal status to No SIM. I haven't tried leaving it to see if it changes back, but switching it off and on again immediately resolves the problem.

    It's not happening frequently so hasn't become a problem yet but I'm curious if anyone else has had the issue, or if anyone knows why? Could it a sim or iOS issue? I have iOS 5.
     
  2. rodman109110 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    #2
    Maybe clean the sim card. I have had that happen on some phones and clearing the dust usually does the trick. If that doesn't work you could get a new one.
     
  3. sideswipe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    #3
    This happened to me, my iPad had to be replaced.
     
  4. Dangerous Theory thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Was it as little often as mine or very consistent? Would love to hear a bit more detail. Thanks!
     
  5. stardustsa2012 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #5
    This happened to me a few weeks ago.
    No sim just popped up randomly and did not go away.
    I tried the following -
    Clean the sim, tried a new sim, backup and re-install ios, googled it and tried a few fixes.
    I rang apple and they confirmed that i had tried everything, the next step was for a collection and repair or take it back to an Apple Shop, i took it back to the Apple shop and they replaced with a brown box Ipad.
     
  6. Dangerous Theory thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Did it completely stop working at once or did you get No SIM occasionally before it finally died? It's just happened to me a third time in three days and it fixed immediately by switching airplane mode on then off. I would liked know if this problem is likely to get worse though.
     
  7. stardustsa2012 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #7
    Well the message appeared out of the blue - first thing i did was restart then turn off/on cellular a few times and it started working again for a few hours, next day No Sim again, tried the method again and cleaned the sim - it started working for around 5 mins then back to No Sim.. and continued like that for 5 day's until i got it replaced.
    So be warned it may appear again!
     
  8. Dangerous Theory thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    Thanks, it's just become a lot more common in the past half hour - happened like 10 times and sometimes airplane mode wouldn't fix it. I have a feeling this fault is developing exponentially! What a pain for a 6 day old iPad...
     
  9. Dangerous Theory thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    I don't know, but it seemingly hasn't happened for a whole day. I can't really expect Apple to replace it if the fault isn't easily replicable or constant, so I guess time will tell...
     
  10. mrtannn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
  11. Khaps77 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    #11
    Same thing

    I have the same error. AT&T offered me 190 on trade and apple reset it and did their thing and said I would need a new one if I want 3G. Works fine with wifi. Probably gonna sell on Craigslist. Seems to be ok market for 64g
     

Share This Page