iPad 2 Won't Update To iOS 5!

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by KidZgOtMac, Nov 17, 2011.

  1. KidZgOtMac macrumors regular

    KidZgOtMac

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Location:
    Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
    #1
    I keep getting the this device is not eligible for the requested build error pop up. How can I resolve this? My device is on 4.3.5 but I want to update and can't seem to be able to any way I try.
     
  2. Thetonyk123 macrumors 68000

    Thetonyk123

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #2
    You need to update to iOS 5.0.1 because iOS 5.0 isn't being signed by apple anymore.
     
  3. itsmemuffins macrumors 68030

    itsmemuffins

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
  4. zhenya macrumors 603

    zhenya

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    #4
    Make sure to do a full sync and backup before trying to update. For good measure, do another manual backup by right-clicking on the device icon in iTunes and choosing backup. Now try updating to iOS 5.
     
  5. koobcamuk macrumors 68040

    koobcamuk

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #5
    And how can we get around that?
     
  6. KidZgOtMac thread starter macrumors regular

    KidZgOtMac

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Location:
    Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
    #6
    Yes I have the last version of itunes & I still can't upgrade to iOS 5!
     
  7. PNutts macrumors 601

    PNutts

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, US
    #7
    You should mention that you previously tried to downgrade to 4.3.3.
     
  8. itsmemuffins macrumors 68030

    itsmemuffins

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #8
    Oh well then op needs to delete that programme.
     
  9. KidZgOtMac thread starter macrumors regular

    KidZgOtMac

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Location:
    Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
    #9
    What program? I only had Red Snow and I deleted it right after trying to downgrade. iPad still doesn't want to upgrade to 5.0.1 it says it is not eligible.
     
  10. Bluemeanie1976 macrumors 6502a

    Bluemeanie1976

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Location:
    Veliko Tarnovo, Bulgaria
    #10
    Have you tried a full contents erase, etc, ie, a full restore to factory settings, then upgrade? Do the restore on the device first.,
     
  11. Dwalls90 macrumors 601

    Dwalls90

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    #11
  12. KidZgOtMac thread starter macrumors regular

    KidZgOtMac

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Location:
    Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
    #12
    I did and it still says not eligible for the requested build! I can't even restore it!
     
  13. itsmemuffins macrumors 68030

    itsmemuffins

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #13
    You know, the one that lets you down grade. That one that has the blobs or something. :D
     
  14. KidZgOtMac thread starter macrumors regular

    KidZgOtMac

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Location:
    Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
    #14
    SOLVED! I went and edited the Hosts file which had some weird lines that said Block Adobe because I had a cracked Photoshop so I deleted those and there was one line that didn't have a # before it so after I did those things I was able to restore and update.
     

Share This Page