iPad 3,1 vs 3,2 vs 3,3

Discussion in 'iPad' started by MoodyM, Mar 16, 2012.

  1. MoodyM macrumors 6502a

    MoodyM

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #1
    When looking to download the new iPad's 5.1 ipsw file, I noticed you can get one for iPad 3,1 or 3,2 or 3,3. I assume 3,1 is the WiFi only model, but whats he difference between 3,2 and 3,3?
     
  2. Kyotoma macrumors 68000

    Kyotoma

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Carnegie and Ontario
  3. MoodyM thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MoodyM

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #3
    I'm in the UK, so which ipsw should I download?
     
  4. Kyotoma macrumors 68000

    Kyotoma

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Carnegie and Ontario
    #4
    iPad 3,2 if you have an iPad 4G model. 3,1 if it's just WiFi.
     
  5. MoodyM thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MoodyM

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #5
    Many thanks. How did you find that out? I looked everywhere!
     
  6. skedssays macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    #6
    I saw 3,2 when I added it to my Good for Enterprise server and I have Verizon iPad
     
  7. MoodyM thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MoodyM

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #7
    Cool, so how do we know the 3,2 one is the right one for the UK?
     
  8. Kyotoma macrumors 68000

    Kyotoma

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Carnegie and Ontario
    #8
    Actually, it might not be. The only difference between the two 4G models is the LTE frequencies that they support, both of which are useless in the U.K.. I just assumed that you would get the AT&T 4G model because that is the model you have gotten in the past. The Verizon 4G one will work over there though.
     
  9. MoodyM thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MoodyM

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #9
    So I could use either ipsw to restore my UK iPad 3?
     
  10. Kyotoma macrumors 68000

    Kyotoma

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Carnegie and Ontario
    #10
    I would try the AT&T(3,2) one first. If that doesn't work, then use the Verizon(3,3) one.
     
  11. MoodyM thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MoodyM

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #11
    Actually, in the new TinyUmbrella, it shows my new iPad as "iPad33CDMA 5.1"
     
  12. mrboult macrumors 6502

    mrboult

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    London, England
    #12
    Go with the AT&T one. I remember reading that is the version of the iPad that the rest of the world will be getting.
     
  13. MoodyM thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MoodyM

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #13
    I plugged my iPad into iTunes, clicked "Restore", then looked in ~/Library/iTunes/iPad Software Updates and the file iTunes was downloading is called:

    "iPad3,3_5.1_9B176_Restore.ipsw"

    I'm assuming iTunes knows to grab the correct file, so it looks like the UK iPads are iPad3,3...
     

Share This Page