Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

kalt

macrumors regular
Original poster
Oct 17, 2011
Holding my iPad 4 up right next to my iPad 3 (which I plan on selling), I notice the screens have a very slightly different hue. Not yellowing. And it's not like either screen is not right. It seems the iPad 3 has a tiny bit more blue hue to the screen. In comparison it seems the iPad 4 has a bit more ... red? Hard to describe. In the setup screen the gray looks more gray on the iPad 4.

But obviously I'm used to the iPad 3 as I've been using it for the past 6 months or so.

The iPad 4 doesn't look wrong. I can only tell the difference when I put them side by side.

Anyone else notice this? Did apple officially tweak the colors/hues on the iPad 4?

mcdj

macrumors G3
Jul 10, 2007
NYC
You will experience similar differences between 2 ipad 4s or 2 ipad 3s. It's just the nature of the variances in the manufacturing process.

Medic311

macrumors 68000
Jul 30, 2011
by the time the iPad 6 rolls around, they will have all of the colors of the rainbow covered

usmaak

macrumors 6502a
Apr 13, 2012
by the time the iPad 6 rolls around, they will have all of the colors of the rainbow covered

I went through a whole bunch of 3s before getting a good one. Trust me, they already have all the colors of the rainbow covered... ;)

Medic311

macrumors 68000
Jul 30, 2011
I went through a whole bunch of 3s before getting a good one. Trust me, they already have all the colors of the rainbow covered... ;)

haha yeah.

luckily i only got pink once and some back light bleed - the 2nd one was perfect

kalt

macrumors regular
Original poster
Oct 17, 2011