iPad 3G activation on the fly

Discussion in 'iPad' started by roland.g, Apr 13, 2010.

  1. roland.g macrumors 603

    roland.g

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    One mile up and soaring
    #1
    Apple rolled out the settings screen and info on activating, adding, etc. to the 3G iPad service through AT&T. Any speculation as to whether this can be done on the fly through the 3G service or if it will require a WiFi link to activate?

    What would be great is that even if the 3G service is not in effect, if you could connect to AT&T via 3G to activate it rather than having to have a WiFi signal to sign up or reactivate. Isn't that the point. If you need a month of service, you should have to plan ahead or have be able to activate it on the fly.

    This would make the 3G a much bigger selling point. Otherwise I'm probably not interested.
     
  2. 8CoreWhore macrumors 68020

    8CoreWhore

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Big D
    #2
    Knowing Apple, if it required WiFi, the write-up would have indicated that. I'm just guessing though. I'd be VERY surprised if you couldn't sign up using 3G. Count on it.
     
  3. LinMac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #3
    Think of it in the same way you do paid wifi at a hotel.

    You connect to the wifi network in a walled garden mode to sign up then you're allow full access once you have paid (usually in blood, limbs, or your friend's soul).
     
  4. roland.g thread starter macrumors 603

    roland.g

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    One mile up and soaring
    #4
    I would hope so but as it has not been announced either way or tested, it was just something I thought of. I would hate to be out somewhere and want it/need it and not be able to activate it right on the spot. You can't always plan like a trip or vacation that you would need it and turn it on beforehand.
     
  5. gwynne macrumors 68000

    gwynne

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    #5
    Seems like they'd be shooting themselves in the foot.
     
  6. samcraig macrumors P6

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #6
    I think it would be similar to the method described above. Another analogy - even if you don't have a plan activated, any cell phone will register on the network... but if you try and make a call, it will say your service isn't activated. You can also still call 911 without activation.

    No reason to think that registration would happen the same way. ATT would recognize the handshake between the activation program and its network and allow THAT transmission - and no others.
     

Share This Page