iPad 3G GPS Question

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Carlos E, May 3, 2010.

  1. Carlos E macrumors 6502

    Carlos E

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #1
    I want to get the 64GB iPad 3G just for the GPS.

    I don't need a 3G account because I plan to use it with a Sprint MIFI. Does the GPS work without a 3G data account enabled?
     
  2. harry*333 macrumors 6502a

    harry*333

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #2
    I was wondering this too, but I have a feeling 3G has to be on
     
  3. Imidazole macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #3
    Just like on my iPhone, with cellular off it locates me.

    But the map is empty. (no data connection)
     
  4. Aduntu macrumors 6502a

    Aduntu

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    #4
    GPS works just fine without cellular data enabled. And if you're using your Sprint mifi, you won't have any issues loading the maps.
     
  5. Love Juice macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #5
    gps works without 3g / edge. it uses assisted gps, and those towers "help" the gps out.

    you can still use a program like navigon or tomtom where the maps are saved on the device itself. the things that would not be available are traffic and a local google search. say if you know the name of a place but not the address. if you had an internet connection, it would search for it and you could "navigate to" wherever it was. without that internet connection, you can only use data that has been saved in the program or device.
     
  6. Carlos E thread starter macrumors 6502

    Carlos E

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    Thanks!
     

Share This Page