iPad 3G on edge

Discussion in 'iPad' started by mskorup8, May 11, 2010.

  1. mskorup8 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Location:
    South Bend, IN
    #1
    I was wondering if anyone could help. I currently have a wifi only model however and spend about 70% of my time in edge. I have it tethered to my 3GS and every time I try to download a video it takes forever or doesn't work. Well, I'm an avid netflix user and I was wondering if I got the actual 3G model would it stream it down enough on egde so I could watch netflix and other videos right away? Honestly, I only use my iPhone for music, texting, and phone calls since getting the iPad. So, i'm thinking og going with a texting phone that doesn't require a data plan, getting an iPod touch, and buying the actual data plan on the 3G iPad. Will this work on edge? Thx
     
  2. T4R06 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    #2
    i dont understand your thread. if you are referring to the EDGE technology. then it is absolutely obsolete. although there is some areas that dont have 3G coverage and thats the GSM or EDGE will kick-in.

    right now at&t 3G is the fastest technology that they have. so netflix and abc app will play beautifully on the 3G network.
     
  3. X1Lightning macrumors 6502

    X1Lightning

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    #3
    Yeah, but i think he is saying he is in the edge area, so buying the ipad with the built in 3g connection will not help

    edge is very slow, its too bad the majority of att's customers are still stuck on edge
     
  4. avaloncourt macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    #4
    I'm also trapped in an Edge area. Data service on the phone can be painfully slow. It would never work for services such as Netflix. You would constantly be rebuffering.
     
  5. Stealthipad macrumors 68040

    Stealthipad

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    #5
    Not much you can do if you are on EDGE. I consider myself lucky and have great 3G coverage in Jacksonville.

    EDGE is slow and downloading any large files would be slow and likely fail. I have used my 3G out in the filed and even it seems to crawl in comparison to my Cisco wireless.

    If you only get EDGE, you need to find a WiFi location when you need it. I find there are alot out there and are free.
     
  6. brn2ski00 macrumors 68020

    brn2ski00

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    #6
    can anyone confirm that the iPad 3G switches to the EDGE network when there isn't a 3G network present?
     
  7. nj-mac-user macrumors 6502

    nj-mac-user

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Location:
    TX
    #7
    Wow watching Netflix of EDGE is like trying to watch streaming video on dial-up.
     
  8. nj-mac-user macrumors 6502

    nj-mac-user

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Location:
    TX
    #8
    Yes, the cellular radio supports UMTS (3G) as well as GSM/EDGE on 850, 900, 1800, and 1900 MHz frequencies (basically 850 and 1900 with AT&T).
     
  9. paulyras macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Location:
    Singapore
    #9
    Yep. Had it happen randomly the other day.
     
  10. avaloncourt macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    #10
    No need to confirm anything. It's on the iPad specifications page:

    http://www.apple.com/ipad/specs/
     
  11. mskorup8 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Location:
    South Bend, IN
    #11
    So netflix wouldn't work on edge no matter if I had the iPad 3G instead I'd currently tethering with my iPhone 3GS?
     
  12. avaloncourt macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    #12
    It won't make the connection magically speed up. You'd be limited to the same connection speeds as the phone. Netflix on EDGE isn't going to function.
     
  13. nj-mac-user macrumors 6502

    nj-mac-user

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Location:
    TX
    #13
    Believe me I don't think you'd even want to watch on EDGE if it were possible. Its bad enough on 3G at times (which is supposed to be more than 10x faster).
     
  14. mskorup8 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Location:
    South Bend, IN
    #14
    Guess I won't need to bother getting a 3G model then! Lol
     
  15. brn2ski00 macrumors 68020

    brn2ski00

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    #15
    thanks!
     
  16. barkomatic macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Location:
    Manhattan
    #16
    Ironically, when I go home to visit my folks who live in a remote part of Michigan the Edge network is surprisingly fast. I think it was due to the very low population density in that area. I would say it was even faster on averge than my NYC 3G connection--which isn't saying much I know.
     
  17. reppans macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    #17
    Related question... can you manually switch the iPad from 3G to Edge like the iPhone?

    I ask this because my iPhone batt seems to last a lot longer in standby on Edge than it does on 3G (about the same signal strength for both at my house). So I generally keep it on Edge for all types of data push notifications, and of course phone calls, when I'm not surfing on the network and need the speed of 3G.

    Yeah the iPad batt lasts along time, but even longer is never a bad thing.

    Thanks.
     
  18. WLS macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #18
    Yes it does. I live in a low spot by a lake and 3g coverage is poor I have seen the 3G indicator change to E . Since I have Wifi at home it doesn't matter to me.
    :)
     

Share This Page