iPad 3G question

Discussion in 'iPad' started by rapidj, Jul 21, 2010.

  1. rapidj macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    #1
    I have the iPad 3G but have not activated the 3G network as yet. I noticed on a recent trip that the GPS in Google maps still works even without the 3G service (probably old news to most of you). Can you tell me if I were to buy an app like Navigon, would it still work without the 3G service, or is 3G required for the app?

    thx
     
  2. fleetingthought macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    #2
    Hello,

    The GPS built into the 3g ipad does not require a 3g connection to operate as you saw with Google maps.
    If the GPS app includes the maps in its install then it should work without a 3g connection for any functions that don't require data outside the unit. If the app downloads the maps on the fly, such as Google maps, then it will require a data service whether it is 3g or some mobile wifi.
    The few GPS navi apps that I looked into required a data connection.


    my 2 cents worth.
    Tom
     
  3. rapidj thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
  4. DenniZ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #4
    Navigon and TomTom, require a iPad 3G, but doesn't necessarily require a 3G sim to be installed, the iPad 3G gets the benefit of GPS, although Navigon and TomTom only require data connection for their live services such as traffic, but the maps should be stored locally.
     
  5. rapidj thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    #5
    That's even better, thanks. Does anyone know if Navigon has an ipad version in production. It seems like there is just one for the iphone, which I know will work fine. Just love the HD graphics
     
  6. DenniZ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #6
    No idea, theirs a copilot one, which doesn't look too bad. The best thing to do at the moment if you can't stand the blurry graphics is to use the fullforce, to force run navigon in full screen. Kind of works. Requires jailbreak as well.

    Might want to have a look at this thread Here
     

Share This Page