iPad 4 or iPad Mini?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Kirixis, Oct 24, 2012.

1. Kirixis macrumors member

Kirixis

Hey all.

I've been using an iPad 3 as my main device for the last six months - since launch day. I like it, but it's a little heavier than I'd like and I can't hold it one handed without putting painful strain on my fingers. I was thinking of selling it. Yes, I am pissed I didn't get to see a whole year. :mad:

Originally I wanted to go for the iPad mini - it's 7.9" which is one of my favourite screen sizes. Unfortunately it lacks the Retina display and only has an A5. Size means a lot to me, but I really want the specs too. If I buy one of the minis, I can also afford 4G LTE... Which is pretty damn cool.

The dilema is, the iPad 4 is 2x as powerful and has the Retina display. I'd still not be super satisfied with the weight/dimensions.

I guess my main questions are:
    -Is the A5 powerful enough for most usage?
    -What happens when newer apps make use of the A6?
    -Is 160 PPI still crisp?
    -Is LTE worth it? (Australian LTE at any rate.)?

Thanks in advance! :)

2. reputationZed macrumors 65816

Yes

The A5 will remain relevant for quite a while. Most devs are not looking to limit their market.

Yes

Need to ask an Aussie about Australia, but when you have coverage LTE is a significant improvement over 3 G

3. Purant macrumors 6502

If your main complaint is the weight and size, why would you even consider an iPad 4?

4. Kirixis thread starter macrumors member

Kirixis

Thanks.

I'm still really liking the A6X though :S

5. yegon macrumors 68020

I'm thinking of selling the 3 and getting a mini too. I never game on my 3, only use it for a bit of casual browsing at home (rarely, mostly use my MBA otherwise) but would love a smaller iPad for browsing/video when I'm at work/out and about. I use a Kindle (soon to be Paperwhite) for ebook reading. I'll miss the retina display, but otherwise I won't miss anything else about the 3.