All iPads iPad aGPS can get data without cell service?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by PracticalMac, Sep 12, 2013.

  1. PracticalMac, Sep 12, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2013

    PracticalMac macrumors 68030

    PracticalMac

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #1
    aGPS in all cellular equipped iPads use the cell network to download a tiny positional data file (GPS Almanac and Ephemeris) for faster acquisition of satellite data.

    Do you need cell service to do that, or is it free? (like calling 911 on any cellphone out of contract).
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
  3. PracticalMac thread starter macrumors 68030

    PracticalMac

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #3
    That's great, many sites don't talk about not needing cell data.

    Found one that does, finally.
     
  4. moonman239 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    #4
    Intell is correct. However, Maps uses the Internet connection to download information about the place you search for and to calculate directions. Absent a data plan, you'll have to use an app that stores navigational data on your iPad.
     
  5. takeshi74 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    #5
    Cell service is needed for aGPS to download ephemeris data for a faster initial fix but the aGPS receiver can fall back on standalone mode without cellular coverage. Cellular coverage is not needed for a GPS fix. If the assistance servers are not available for the ephemeris data download than the aGPS receiver will get a GPS fixout without. It will just take a bit longer.

    Maps isn't the only GPS app that relies on data. Any GPS app that relies on data will have problems. Some GPS apps have locally stored maps but have other features that rely on data (traffic, etc). Obviously, those features will not work without data coverage.
     
  6. PracticalMac thread starter macrumors 68030

    PracticalMac

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #6
    Yes, need to be in a coverage area, but the data can be downloaded without need of contract (read link couple posts up, found after a lot of searching).

    At least that what article states.
     

Share This Page