iPad iPad Air 2 multi-tasking and external keyboards

Discussion in 'iPad' started by CodeBreaker, Oct 10, 2015.

  1. CodeBreaker macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Location:
    Sea of Tranquility
    #1
    Hi,

    Can anyone who uses external keyboards with the iPad Air 2 answer these please?
    1. If I am using two apps that require a keyboard (say any app that allows text input) in split mode, is there a keyboard shortcut to switch between what app gets the keyboard focus? Or do I have to tap the screen?
    2. Is there a keyboard shortcut to launch/switch to an app while in the split mode or the slide over mode? I know the Cmd tab shortcut, but does it also work when switching between split apps? Like If I have Notes and Safari in split mode, can I change Safari to say the Maps app without touching the screen?
    3. If I use an external keyboard, apps will not show the software keyboard on screen, right?
    Thanks,
    Codebreaker
     
  2. eyeseeyou macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    #2
    1/2. cmd tab works in ios9. I have a air 1 but I imagine that you can change focus with the cmd tab shortcut although tapping on the screen is arguably easier.
    3. Apps will not show the software keyboard if an external keyboard is connected.
     
  3. username: macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    #3
    Yes command tab switches apps on air 2 and works as you would expect in split view. Ie you can cmd tab between split apps and to other apps as well. There is not another keyboard shortcut specifically for switching between split screen apps.

    Slide over has to be initiated with touch, there is no keyboard shortcut to bring slide over in. Then you can type in the slide over app, and if you switch to another app the slide over disappears unless you initiate split screen mode.
     
  4. sracer macrumors 603

    sracer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Location:
    Land of Bongos and Beatniks
    #4
    I don't think it is possible to overstate the usefulness of Cmd-Tab on an iPad w/an external keyboard.
     
  5. Left4DeadBoy macrumors regular

    Left4DeadBoy

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    #5
    Hey you could use Cmd-Tab on a silicon key board that has it. Theyre noise proof.
     
  6. emembee macrumors regular

    emembee

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Location:
    Surrey,UK
    #6
    I dont know if it is a known limitation but on my mini2 it only displays apps that fit the screen size, so portrait shows less apps than landscape.

    Also, am I missing an important gesture or setting that really does show all running apps, or again, do the apps have to be written specifically to allow cmd-tab? (I cant see OmniOutliner or settings for example, suspect it is only showing a certain number of the most recent apps) ...

    Any ideas?
     

Share This Page