All iPads ipad air as ereader

Discussion in 'iPad' started by sasha.danielle, Apr 23, 2015.

1. sasha.danielle macrumors regular

What is everybody else's experience with the Air 2 as a reader? I just bought one and it feels to me a bit uncomfortable or unwieldy for reading for any considerable period of time. I used to have an iPad 2 and thought the same thing then but was hoping the reduced weight might help, bit now I think it might just be the size of the machine I'm thinking about returning it for a mini. The problem is I just ordered a beautiful custom leather case for it for about a hundred bucks and I don't really want to have wasted the money.

The iPad itself is on a payment plan with my carrier so in not really worried about the cost of the device.

Am I just being too finicky? Would I have a significantly improved experience with a Mini 2 or 3?

I'm doing my Masters and using it mostly for reading and some light editing in Pages, so my needs are otherwise not heavy.

2. ardchoille50 macrumors 68020

I think using the iPad Air 2 as an e-reader works best when you have some sort of stand to prop the device up. When I got my iPad Air 2 I began using my iPad mini as my main e-reader - much easier to hold for longer periods of time.

3. sasha.danielle thread starter macrumors regular

Yeah that's what I found too. I wonder what I can recoup on the case... *sigh*

4. RichardMZhlubb macrumors member

E-ink Kindles are far better options as e-book readers. I realize that some people don't like having multiple devices, but I find that it's just much easier on my eyes reading on a Kindle. I'll read books on my iPhone or iPad Kindle apps for short periods, but I couldn't imagine using them for the bulk of my reading.

5. HarryWarden macrumors 6502a

Sounds like a Mini would suit your needs better. Get a refurb Mini 2. You can get a 128 GB wifi Mini 2 on the refurb store now. There's no reason to get a Mini 3 since Touch ID is the only added feature.