iPad iPad Air bad speaker and display?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by silverwolf0, Nov 10, 2013.

1. silverwolf0 macrumors newbie

I just got my new iPad Air. Owned an iPad 2 previously. I have a few issues that I'm not sure if its normal or not. The speakers sound like audio is coming out of a barrel or tin can. It is very disorienting, especially when listening to music that has a beat. The audio is so bad I get nauseous when playing scramble with friends. I usually like all the sound effects from that game. My iPad 2 sounded great and didn't have any of these issues. My cheap smartphone has better sounding speakers than my iPad Air. iPad 2 beats everything. Is it suppose to sound this bad, or my unit defective?

Also, I am new to the retina display. The display on my iPad looks washed out unless I set it to very high brightness, and the yellows look greenish. The colors look very different from my iPad 2. It is lighter and more pastel-y, and I'm not talking about iOS 7 either. Is this normal as well?

I was all pumped for a new iPad in over two years but am a bit frustrated at what I am getting.

2. banana2000 macrumors newbie

my glass panel looks perfectly normal
    i dont know whats wrong with yours:confused:

3. silverwolf0 thread starter macrumors newbie

I think my display is a color temperature difference. Was the iPad 2 a lot warmer than the iPad 3/4 with retina? I know on AMOLED displays which are very cold, the yellows look like greens to me as well. But that doesn't explain the washed out colors in general. More washed out than my old iPad 2.

I am hearing other complaints about the speakers around the internet as well. I still don't know if its certain people with bad speakers, or just bad speakers in general that people aren't noticing or can hear. The high end actually sounds pretty good with voices and such. It's the low end and echoes and vibrations that makes me nauseous and I try to cover up the speaker to muffle it.