iPad iPad Air froze while using Safari

Discussion in 'iPad' started by ventuss, Jan 4, 2014.

  1. ventuss macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    #1
    I've been using my iPad for about a week, 4 charges/discharges. About an hour ago safari froze and the home and sleep button didn't respond, it froze there. I had to force reset it. :(

    Is this related to that Safari related problems people were experiencing?
     
  2. ugcop macrumors 6502a

    ugcop

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Location:
    Traveling @ Warp Speed ...... USA
    #2
    Use Chrome or Mercury. Safari is buggy until 7.1 comes out. Chrome and Merc run on top of Safari but seem to smooth it out.

    Chrome actually seems to handle memory the best.
     
  3. s2mikey macrumors 68020

    s2mikey

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Location:
    Upstate, NY
    #3
    What sites were you visiting? It does seem to be site related.

    As for browsers, the Atomic browser has always been stable for me if safari is driving you crazy.
     
  4. ventuss thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
  5. AdonisSMU macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #5
    Chrome doesn't run on top of Safari. It actually runs with a web view which is worse than Safari. It's also slower. Apps can freeze at any time for any reason. It's likely Safari froze because the site had javascript bugs in it.

    ----------

    Did you have more than 1 tab open?

    The macrumors home page gives me 104 console errors. It's really ****** actually. There are chartbeat problems adadvisor problems cdn problems osd.js problems you name it. Javascript bugs were the problem not your browser. Javascript bugs can freeze or crash any browser.
     
  6. PCWilliams macrumors newbie

    PCWilliams

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Location:
    Miami
    #6
    Give this a try!

    I think this problem has been determined to be a bug in Safari.

    Give this a try and hopefully it works.

    Go to Settings
    Select Safari
    Select AutoFill
    Turn it OFF

    Close Settings

    Reopen Settings
    Join your network.

    You can turn AutoFill back on now if you want but if you connect to some other network and then come back to this one it won't connect while AutoFill is turned on.

    Apple will fix this in an update.

    Thanks
     

Share This Page