Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Chairman.Jobbie

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Sep 9, 2011
I brought an iPad Air on launch day and it's perfect and I have about 18gb of 32gb free with what I think I need on there. My previous iPad was 16gb and I had about 2-4gb free, but I always felt I was being careful.

My question is - as this is more or less going to be my main device (I have a MBA13 if need it) should I upgrade to 64gb? Tomorrow is the last day to be able to exchange or return it. I plan to keep this iPad for 2-3 years - I can't see Apple improving it significantly before then.

The screen on my air seems perfect - crisp and colours look good, esp compared to Mini. So I'm worried if I exchange to a 64gb I'll get a less impressive screen.

I also got a mini today and almost straight away I feel it just doesn't 'feel right'. Too small. It feels like its a play station thingy even though I've never used one. It feels like trying to decide between a MacBook Air 13" & 11" - I returned the 11" as it just felt too small.... In the store I thought the mini would good enough for me... Shows that you need to take it home and try it properly to really know.

I do watch movies etc but I don't download in bulk.. one every now and then streaming mostly. What do you think 32gb or 64gb?

Chupa Chupa

macrumors G5
Jul 16, 2002
No. If you have 18 of 32 free now you'll be fine. No need to spend $ on space you only think you might need as there is little resale value upside. It'll be a huge waste of $ on your part. If during the course of the year your iPad does fill up then sell or trade it in when the Air 2 comes out.

nostresshere

macrumors 68030
Dec 30, 2010
Gee, only the thousand-th thread on this same question in the past week or so.

But, I would get at least the 32, but we just bought the 128.

maflynn

macrumors Haswell
May 3, 2009