Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

SharonLoudon

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 27, 2014
Hello - My name is Sharon and this is my first post here. Always been a Mac person, but this is my first iPad! I started playing around with it last night and like many people found it hard to put down! I do have a couple of questions - and go easy on me, I'm middle aged!

Do I turn it off when done using it or just let it go to sleep? I turned it off last night. This morning, it doesn't seem to want to "read" my fingerprint, and I don't think I assigned it a passcode, unless the passcode is the same as the password or username on my MacBook pro, but that doesn't seem to work, either. I'd like to go back in and assign a passcode if possible. I promise to not ask such simple questions in the future - I leave for East Africa on Thursday so need to have some basic info really quickly, and did not find much support on the Apple site. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks, folks!

NT1440

macrumors G5
May 18, 2008
Don't turn the device off, it is designed to sleep the majority of the time. Turning it off does not harm anything, but you'll notice that powering it up consumes anywhere from 3-5% battery, which is less than if it was in sleep mode overnight.

TouchID does not work immediately after restarting by design, you have to enter your passcode which is normally a 4 digit numeric sequence. IF the keyboard shows up with letters rather than a number it means you have a complex passcode setup, which can be just about anything.

melman101

macrumors 68030
Sep 3, 2009
Hello - My name is Sharon and this is my first post here. Always been a Mac person, but this is my first iPad! I started playing around with it last night and like many people found it hard to put down! I do have a couple of questions - and go easy on me, I'm middle aged!