iPad and airport extreme

Discussion in 'iPad' started by jdmagoo1, Mar 28, 2011.

  1. jdmagoo1, Mar 28, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2011

    jdmagoo1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    #1
    To those that have an iPad and apple tv do you have any AirPlay problems? For instance every time i want to AirPlay a video from iPad to the apple tv I have to restart the iPad just to get the AirPlay icon. Very annoying, will purchasing the airport extreme solve this problem?

    Another issue I think the airport extreme might solve is the continued drop outs in Internet connection i get since the os4.3 upgrade.

    Any thoughts before I waste $160 on a device that might or might not solve my problems

    Cheers

    James
     
  2. ClutchThese macrumors 65816

    ClutchThese

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA
    #2
    mine works flawlessly with the airport extreme.
     
  3. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
  4. FeaRThiS macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    #4
    I use airport extreme to stream to my hifi first thing I tried when I got my ipad 2 works perfect.
     
  5. jdmagoo1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    #5
    Do you get the same results for air played video as well?
     
  6. MTShipp macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    #6
    Using iPad 2 over Airport Extreme with no issues. I even had it set up to bridge through a Netgear for a short time and it still worked.
     
  7. joec1101 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Location:
    So Cal, USA
    #7
    Is it jailbroken? I ask because I noticed this on my iPhone4 when it was jailbroken. After restoring back to non-jailbroken state the problem went away.
     
  8. jdmagoo1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    #8
    No its not jail broken.

    What security do people use on there WIFI networks? Maybe the ios devices dont like the security of the network?
     
  9. joec1101 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Location:
    So Cal, USA
  10. synagence macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #10
    Are you using an 'N' 5Ghz network?

    I found Home Sharing wasn't a pleasant experience until i switched it onto the faster network
     
  11. jdmagoo1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    #11
    My network is 'n' 2.4ghz the billion 7300n adsl modem doesn't have the 5ghz. Also, I have tried different channels and have changed the bandwidth from 20/40 MHz to 20 MHz and still no difference
     
  12. ClutchThese macrumors 65816

    ClutchThese

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA
    #12
    reset your router, reset your iPad...reset your modem. Maybe you have it set for static IP, maybe you have something enabled. There are a bunch of reasons it "Wouldn't work" if you do a total reset, it should fix all.
     
  13. jdmagoo1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    #13
    Yeap have done all of that, numerous times. I think there are apple wifi devices that are not compatible with certain wifi routers etc. Anyway I will purchase a refurb airport extreme to see if that fixes the problem if not I will return within 14 days for a full refund
     
  14. JRoDDz macrumors 68000

    JRoDDz

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Location:
    NYC
    #14
    +1 same here.
     
  15. FeaRThiS macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    #15
    not tried video my ipad a near full with my ALAC.
     
  16. Cartaphilus macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    #16
    I've had the exact same problem, but it is intermittent. If I reset the iOS device, the iPad(1) or the iPhone4, everything works fine. When I am having the issue, it affects Airplay (no icon), so I can't stream to any of my Airport Expresses or to the ATV2. I haven't noticed if it affects Airprint as well.

    I use an Airport Extreme in bridge mode as my router, with the U-verse router doing the modem work. All updates are installed.

    If you figure it out, OP, please post the solution.
     
  17. Lotso macrumors 6502

    Lotso

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Location:
    OC, California
    #17
    The router could just simply be on it's last leg and it's just a coincidence it's happening after you upgrade. The same thing happened to me. I had a Airport Extreme also. My internet would drop randomly, then if i restarted it, my iPad 1 would work for a while. Then it would stop working again. Believe me, it was frustrating.
     
  18. jdmagoo1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    #18
    I purchased the airport extreme and it has fixed all my wifi and AirPlay issues, just goes to show that iOS devices are not compatible with all wifi routers
     
  19. LightSpeed1 macrumors 6502a

    LightSpeed1

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Location:
    Washington D.C.
    #19
    Same here.
     
  20. Steelers7510 macrumors 6502

    Steelers7510

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Location:
    Lake Tahoe
    #20
    Mine works flawlessly as well. (I use and Airport Extreme with a Airport Express as an extender)
     

Share This Page