iPad baseband on iphone 4

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by glendalf81, Apr 29, 2011.

  1. glendalf81 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    #1
    hi guys i have a question about the iphone 4

    i recently procured an iphone 3gs and iphone 4 in an online auction,
    both locked to vodafone uk and both suffering the dreaded no service message,

    i immediately began to suspect this was a fault with vodafone and not the handsets as i read many many many forums offering tips such as disabling 3g etc, you know the ones, anyway neither of those tips worked so i suspected that if i were to unlock and try a different carrier i could be in luck,
    wrong both phones had an un-unlockable baseband,

    not so much of a problem with the 3GS as redsn0w allowed me to install the ipad 6.15.00 baseband which i did and now the 3gs is working perfectly with a t-mobile sim inserted, achieving full signal most of the time, except my house but never get great signal in there anyway lol

    so the question i have is it possible to install the 6.15.00 baseband in an iphone 4, 4.3.2 baseband 04.10.01in order to try another carrier sim

    thanks in advance
    glendalf81
     
  2. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #2
    You could try requesting an official unlock from vodafone by using this form.
     
  3. glendalf81, Apr 29, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2011

    glendalf81 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    #3
    hi thanks, unfortunately that requires an imei unlock which apple no longer provide to carriers, also if the imei was registered to a user that had the phone on contract im sure vodafone would pick up on it

    edit: also iphones do not rely on an unlock code, the imei has to be sent to apple to be put on the white list i believe it is called
     
  4. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #4
    Apple are still providing IMEI unlocks to carriers - O2 and Vodafone both do it for free for phones that are locked to them on contract (and for a small fee for PAYG phones). O2 also require that you prove your account with them, but I don't think Vodafone do which is why I suggested you try the official route. The worst that can happen is they refuse to do it, and the best is that you'll have an officially unlocked phone with no messing up of the baseband.
     
  5. biohead macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Location:
    West Drayton, UK
    #5
    If you're getting no service, and you've tried the tips... I'd be starting to think they may have been IMEI blacklisted. It's not the only answer, but it's certainly a possibility.

    But in answer to your question, no. You can't put the iPad baseband on the iPhone 4.

    As Phil A said, the carriers are still permitted to unlock the phones via Apple.
     
  6. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #6
    You can't install the iPad bb on an i4.
    Just 3G and 3GS.
     
  7. italeki macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    #7
    I've heard using the iPad BB on your iPhone can brick it. So I guess it's a risk you take.
     
  8. glendalf81 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    #8
    hi guys thanks, guess i will just have to wait till someone figures out how to unlock 04.10.01, give that a go,

    worth a try with vodafone i suppose

    cheers guys
     
  9. sbddude macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Location:
    Nor Cal, USA
    #9
    since the ipad 2 has the same baseband chip as the iphone 4, maybe it will someday be possible to use the ipad 2 baseband firmware?
     
  10. Yamani macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    #10
    im using the iphone 4 baseband 01.59.00. i dont know how i did it but i stayed all night and somehow i got it working...
     
  11. sbddude macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Location:
    Nor Cal, USA
    #11
    that baseband is unlockable. No magic involved :)
     

Share This Page