iPad Camera Connection Kit DOA?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Strom1, May 22, 2011.

  1. Strom1 macrumors regular

    Strom1

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Location:
    NY
    #1
    Just bought the Camera Connection Kit and nothing works no matter what I do. It will not read either by the sd card reader or by USB port reader? Any suggestions?
     
  2. Strom1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Strom1

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Location:
    NY
    #2
    Do you think it could have anything to do with a firmware update or something? Because ever since I've used this camera connection kit, the power button is now NOT working all the time.

    I have to touch the power button three to four times before it comes to life?
     
  3. Mac.World macrumors 68000

    Mac.World

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Location:
    In front of uranus
    #3
    Try this:

    Turn on iPad
    Plug camera USB/SD card reader into port
    Insert SD card
    Open Photo App

    Within 3 seconds, the photos should appear.

    The USB portion will never work with anything, other than when it is connected to something else that supplies the power. i.e. Connecting a powered camera to it. In which case follow the same steps above, substituting the cameras USB for the SD card.

    If this does not work, you may have a faulty reader.
     
  4. Strom1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Strom1

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Location:
    NY
    #4
    I just did a firmware update and now everything is working. Is the normal?
     
  5. dacreativeguy macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    #5
    If the kit requires the iOS version you upgraded to, then Yes.
     
  6. Strom1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Strom1

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Location:
    NY
    #6
    Really not sure. I have the original iPad 3G 32gb it came with 3.2.2. After thie firmware update it has 4.3.3.

    Anyone know if this has anything to do with this issue?
     
  7. OlgaJ macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Location:
    Florida
    #7
    It probably does. The connection kit came out after firmware update 4.x.
     
  8. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #8
    Not to be a smart ass, but if the problem went away after a software update, then yes.
     
  9. AppleGoddess macrumors 6502a

    AppleGoddess

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    #9
    Make sure you format the card I and issues too.
    Make a dcim folder..on the card that should work.
     
  10. blackNBUK macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    I bought my CCK back on UK launch day last year and it worked fine under 3.2. Maybe Apple has updated the hardware somehow. Alternatively the OP's iPad may have been acting weird and the reboot during the upgrade process cleared that up.
     
  11. Strom1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Strom1

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Location:
    NY
    #11
    I'm thinking that this probably is the case.
     

Share This Page