iPad Cellular Usage Stats RESET ITSELF

Discussion in 'iPad' started by jtara, Jun 7, 2010.

  1. jtara macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #1
    For those of you trying to gauge your iPad 3G usage by using Settings -> General -> Usage. Mine just RESET ITSELF!

    No, I didn't hit the "Reset Statistics" button by mistake. It says "Last Reset: Never".

    I activated the data account on Sunday, and posted a thread here on my one-day results (94MB with light browsing morning/evening to catch-up on news.)

    Well, now it shows only 19.1 MB sent, 696k received.

    So, fair warning: if you don't carefully watch, the numbers you see could be deceiving!

    Anybody observe this?

    You'd have to look at it periodically and write-down or remember what you saw last.

    Edit: I think I know how this happened. Lots of programs were crashing, so I did a hard reset. (home and on/off at the same time). I'm guessing this resets the usage stats? BTW, the hard reset seems to have cured the crashes, at least for now.
     
  2. Hammie macrumors 65816

    Hammie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Location:
    Wash, DC Metro
    #2
    I recently did a hard re set but did not notice my usage reset. My monthly plan ends in two hours so I'll see if it resets by itself at that time. If it doesn't, i was planning on noting my usage and resetting it so I can see what my usage is next month. As of now, it looks Ike I am just under 700MB total for the month.
     
  3. TraceyS/FL macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    #3
    This happened to me... With no hard reset or crash. It actually went from 2.? Gb to 980 mb.

    Which sucked because it did it 2days before I expired and I don't know what I had really used.

    I'm at 690mb right now since Friday. Gee, the van full of kids playing with maps for 2 hours yesterday sure did suck the data down!
     
  4. CarboysDesire macrumors 6502a

    CarboysDesire

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #4
    Forgive me if I am wrong but as a backup you can always check your current usage by checking your account in cellular data. I did this last night. It looks like this...

    [​IMG]

    It's direct from ATT so its probably more accurate too.
     
  5. Hammie macrumors 65816

    Hammie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Location:
    Wash, DC Metro
    #5
    @Carboys -- that screen only works like that if you are on the 250MB plan. Those with the Unlimited plan do not get the usage tracking through that screen.
     
  6. jtara thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #6
    Nope. If you're on an unlimited plan, it only shows you how many DAYS are left.

    As well, I haven't been able to log on to ATT's "my account" with my iPad account number/password.

    So - Catch-22 - good luck figuring-out how much data you are using! You can't even get the data to make an intelligent decision.
     
  7. Hammie macrumors 65816

    Hammie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Location:
    Wash, DC Metro
    #7
    My 30 days just expired about 10 minutes ago and nothing reset by itself. I ended up resetting it manually and creating a spreadsheet to keep track of my usage.
     
  8. CarboysDesire macrumors 6502a

    CarboysDesire

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #8
    Oh, I see But if you are on unlimited why would you care? I suppose so you'll know if you want to down grade, right? A call to ATT at the end of the cycle should work. They'll have the data. It keeps you wondering all month though. Hmmm.
     
  9. Ashka macrumors 6502a

    Ashka

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #9
    There are apps available that keep track of data used.
    Quota for iPad and Consume for iPhone (should work with the iPad) are two.
    Maybe one of them works with AT&T.
     
  10. Seamaster macrumors 65816

    Seamaster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    #10
    Um, only if you're on AT&T.
     

Share This Page