iPad Current Location Issue

Discussion in 'iPad' started by kenshinxue, May 5, 2010.

  1. kenshinxue macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #1
    Hi All,

    My iPad 64gb wifi cannot identify current location while using my home wireless network... I found this problem several days ago. But I'm pretty sure that it once could.

    Anyone know what happened? jailbreak issue? firmware error? anything? Since my iPad is wifi only, I guess it is not a hardware problem...

    Thanks!

    Xiang
     
  2. PathVu macrumors member

    PathVu

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    #3
    Location Services

    had similar problem...resolved itself...strange

    PathVu
     
  3. barefeats macrumors 65816

    barefeats

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2000
    #4
    I use the "WiFi only" iPad with the Sprint 4G Overdrive mobile hotspot.

    I discovered that the Overdrive has its own GPS which is synced with up to 7 satellites. Using Safari for iPad (or Atomic), I enter the Overdrive's IP address and click its "Map me" function. It displays my exact location including my latitude and longitude using my choice of either Google Maps, Bing Maps, Yahoo Maps, or MapQuest.
     
  4. wgary macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    #5
    ... but does this communicate with apps that work best if they know where you are?
     
  5. stevepork macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    #6
    SkyHook

    This is a database that every service online uses to find the location of yourself, skyhook and google cars pickup the location of hotspots and puts them on a map, I had this problem myself. What you need to do is visit this link: http://www.skyhookwireless.com/howitworks/submit_ap.php and submit your router and place it on the map. Then within a couple of weeks your location will start showing up.

    Sometimes say you have a driveway of live in a remote area as I do they do not pick up your router therefore your location is not in their databases. This is the only real wifi location database

    It should be trusted

    Hope this helps!
     

Share This Page