iPad doesn't finish rendering websites with lots of images

Discussion in 'iPad' started by SebZen, Apr 3, 2010.

  1. SebZen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    #1
    First I'm typing this from iPad :)

    Anyway it's pretty bad with rendering many images at once. For example here http://acidcow.com/fun/8608-acid-picdump-165-pics.html

    It doesn't render the last 25% or so of the images

    Same with images on Gizmodo (article with updated app reviews)

    Very disappointing but otherwise the device is excellent. Do you think they can fix this or is this lack of RAM?
     
  2. Diversion macrumors 6502a

    Diversion

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #2
    Also typing from the iPad.. Just tried the link you provided on my iPad and I got the same results at you. It's definitely a ram limitation. If you load that link on your computer (as I did in firefox) the memory used to render the entire page was over 200megs. It is still assumed the iPad has 512megs of ram which is why it can't load a page like that.
     
  3. SebZen thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    #3
    Wow Pad Info app shows 150MB RAM total. That's pathetic!!

    Edit: nvm I reset the iPad and now it's showing 222MB
     
  4. iParis macrumors 68040

    iParis

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #4
    I think what you're seeing, the 150MB and 222MB, is the amount of FREE MEMORY. There is now way they would put in less ram than the iPhone and iPod touch have.
     
  5. yyy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    #5
    My 3 years old Mac Mini running Mac OS X 10.4 (Tiger) has exactly 512MB of RAM and loaded the whole page in a little bit more than a minute. It slowed down my computer a little bit but I was already running a few other applications in the background.
     
  6. iParis macrumors 68040

    iParis

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #6
    There's also the fact that your Mac mini have a faster processor and it's ram probably runs at faster speeds.
     
  7. SebZen thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    #7
    No it says total RAM. App must be buggy because it keeps changing but after a fresh restart it shows 222 and goes down as I use the iPad so I guess it's 256 total
     
  8. dave1812dave macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    #8
    is rendering bad right after a restart?
     
  9. SebZen thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    #9
    Yes I tried going to that page after restarting and checking the ram which was at 222

    It did not finish rendering
     
  10. dave1812dave macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    #10
    i hope you fire off a complaint directly to apple at the feedback link at apple.com
     
  11. yyy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    #11
    If I'm not mistaken, the faster processor might affect the speed in which the pages loads, not the quantity of rendered images. I have a feeling the iPad's Safari is programmed to stop loading after a number of seconds. Maybe the Opera Mini app would do a better job, if it gets approved.
     
  12. Damian. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    #12
    Does it stop loading pics from here for you guys?

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  13. SebZen thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    #13
    I'm sure they're aware 256MB is limiting at some things. But 256 in 2010? Really?
     
  14. iParis macrumors 68040

    iParis

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #14
    Well then if the images loaded faster, perhaps they would all load before safari.app timed out.
     
  15. tdream macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    #15
    It is assumed the iPad has 256MB as no one has reported higher than that.
     
  16. SebZen thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    #16
    Trying to see. Safari crashes often on that page

    Edit: got one image more than you did. Stopped at a green frog for me
     
  17. tdream macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    #17
    I know, pathetic right? The same as the 3GS. Works brilliant on a 480x320 screen. Weaksauce on a 1024x768. Is 512MB a big ask in 2010, when some Android phones come with the same! And it has a smaller screen.

    It's akin placing regular tyres on a formula 1 car. You're going to having to keep coming back to the pit to replace them. ie. Refresh, refresh, refresh instead of having the info loaded in RAM.
     
  18. kas23 macrumors 603

    kas23

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #18
    If you are aware of Apple's business model, this shouldn't surprise you one bit. How else would they be able to name rev B the iPad S?
     
  19. Damian. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    #19
    I tried it for the third time and it also stopped at the green frog.
     
  20. SebZen thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    #20
    It's not too big a deal. For example Engadget fully loads. It's almost as fast as my MBP at loading normal sites
     
  21. john3478 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    #21
    99% of the websites do not have that many images in one pages. So, I think your subject "iPad bad with images" is bias. It should be "iPad bad with images if you have ridiculously huge numbers of images in one page "
     
  22. SebZen thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    #22
    You're right. Changed
     
  23. dave1812dave macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    #23
    "bias"? in other words, don't anyone DARE to complain about anything on their iPad, lest they be labeled as being biased.
     
  24. pooryou macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    #24
    Virtual Memory.
     
  25. TurboSC macrumors 65816

    TurboSC

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Location:
    California

Share This Page