iPad Educational Use

Discussion in 'iPad' started by trojan22, Jun 22, 2012.

1. trojan22 macrumors newbie

I am a teacher working in LAUSD (I know) and our school is deploying iPads to the faculty for the fall. Our district's method of tracking iPads and using the Volume Pricing seems overly complicated and time consuming for our tech guy, who is also a teacher. It requires us to sync each unit to a desktop machine at school and create individual emails for every faculty member. It seems to not allow for use of iCloud or anyone's existing apple ID. My question is there has to be a better way that would provide similar protection against theft (thru find my iPhone), allow us to use our VPP, and allow us to utilize iCloud. Any suggestions?

2. silverblack macrumors 68030

silverblack

Forget about tracking, which is no good as someone can easily wipe the iPad to eliminate tracking.

To discourage theft, engrave in big letters, PROPERTY OF XXX SCHOOL. IF FOUND, CALL XXX. I can't guarantee it won't be stolen, but it'll be much less likely.

3. Night Spring macrumors G5

Night Spring

Everyone could sign in with their own Apple ID, then designate one iPad/ID as the master iPad, and set up Find My Friends so the master iPad tracks all other iPads. I think you can set up restrictions on each iPad so people can't tamper with the Find My Friends setup, but I'm not sure. Won't stop a knowledgable thief from wiping the iPad, but should work to quickly keep tabs on where all the iPads are.

4. erawsd macrumors 6502

I'm the tech coordinator at an LAUSD school. We explored iPad deployment earlier this year (primarily for DIEBELS) and we were also told that we'd have to use 3 IDs -- one for VPP, one for the device to download the free stuff, and one for "Find my iPad". I agree that it seems rather convulted, but this is one time where I can understand why it is necessary.