iPad f keys

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Sseguin, Jun 10, 2010.

  1. Sseguin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    #1
    Is there a way to access, obtain f keys on the iPad? Such as F1,F2 etc?
     
  2. Caolan96 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Location:
    Derry, Northern Ireland, UK
    #2
    Not that i know of,

    but why would you need them?
     
  3. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #3

    Remote accessing a computer where software uses those keys??

    If that's the case, you may be able to remap keys on the Mac.
     
  4. Sseguin thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    #4
    For work. We access our database via telnet and require the F keys.

    Is there a way to remap using a pc or the iPad?
     
  5. Caolan96 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Location:
    Derry, Northern Ireland, UK
    #5
    oh yeah, sorry guys, excuse my noob stupidity :p

    i always thought airmouse for iphone included f keys, but not sure about ipad apps, :(
     
  6. jtara macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #6
    Get an app that supports the F-keys.

    iSSH does.

    It also supports CTL, ALT, ESC, TAB, arrow keys,

    It does everything except the F-keys via a little "keyboard extension tab" at the top of the keyboard (you can slide it up or down), and/or buttons in the status bar.

    As well, there's this bizarre popup with F1-F12, CTL, ALT, ESC, TAB, and a circular ring of buttons with the arrow keys, PgUp, Home, End, and PgDn.

    Oh, yea, you can also switch the circular ring by pressing a button and then you get 8 "macro" buttons. 3 are pre-loaded with "uname", "ps", and "xterm".

    Oh, but I hope you know what a bad idea it is to use telnet. I hope you aren't doing it over the Internet. See about using ssh instead.
    (iSSH does support telnet, though, as well as ssh).
     
  7. jizaref1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2014
    #7
    We have similar software requirements through our work Telnet on a Citrix server. However, that program has a virtual keyboard that can be called up (like the ipad keyboard) and it is customizable, including adding a virtual set of function keys. I added F2 and F3 since I use those. See if your software allows a virtual keyboard like that.
     
  8. 960design macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Location:
    Destin, FL
    #8
    I tested a ton of apps and have settled on the app TN5250. I use it to access our assets remotely and locally.

    I like Panic's Prompt as well, but not 100% sure it will do everything you need.
     

Share This Page