iPad for engineering classes

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Jasonbot, Nov 5, 2010.

1. Jasonbot macrumors 68020

Jasonbot

Hey,

I study engineering and I'm considering getting an iPad for class to take notes, view lecture slides, text books etc...

But I'd be worried about replacing good old pen and paper in class, especially since the nature of my work is very maths and drawing orientated. Are there apps for taking notes that provide good support for hand drawn images etc... Is an iPad a good pen and paper replacement?

2. fts3v3r macrumors newbie

I do own an ipad and just graduated with my degree in engineering. I highly suggest you stick with a pen and paper when it comes to taking notes. Doing it on an ipad is much slower, inefficient, and just a plain headache.

3. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

Pen and paper still work best in the sciences for taking notes.

4. FubsyGamr macrumors regular

Well, I am in my second year of Computer Engineering, and for me, using Note Taker HD is a very good way to take notes. The organization is not great, however, which is a HUGE issue, but the actual note-taking part is unrivaled. I use it for taking notes in Calculus and Computer Programming with no problem.

p.s. If you'd like, I can email you a copy of my notes as a PDF, just so you can see what they look like. I dunno if that would be helpful at all.

5. LAS.mac macrumors 6502

Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7E18 Safari/528.16)

+ 1 to NoteTaker HD. I just tried it last week for field note taking. It did work flawlessly.
    I've yet to try it with a pen such as Pogo. But the first impression is good, although yes, there is a learning curve. So don't think to be able to take notes as fast as with paper and pen the very fist day.

6. Hydrocity macrumors 6502a