Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

dbl.ceo

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 17, 2010
Well after hearing the initial reports from friends whom have been going to lectures and crying at the pain their hand is experiencing due to intense not taking....

I've realised a more technology based device to take notes may be required....

Obviously the Macbook is an option however its price is an obstacle....

Just wondering if anyone out there uses a iPad for uni what type of apps you use?
Is it working for you etc etc.:cool:

I'm doing a Bachelor of Digital Media and Film, and have a 27 inch i7 iMac at home for all my video editing and photo creation needs ...at present

Last edited:

alust2013

macrumors 601
Feb 6, 2010
On the fence
I would say you would need a computer for college in general, not necessarily from note taking. Typing is often not conducive to math/science type classes, so you'd likely end up using paper and pen anyhow. I find it easier when I go to look through my notes to keep my places in different pages and be able to easily find them rather than searching on a screen. However, you can get a stylus and use that to write on it if you like.

afireintonto

macrumors 6502a
Jul 22, 2008
Portland
I use my ipad to take notes in some classes. It works pretty well for classes that it's just text you need to note down. I haven't found any apps that would be good enough for my 2000-3000 level accounting classes. Math would also be a no go, from what I know so far.

Classes with just text though, its perfect! Light weight, great battery life, and fun killing fifteen minutes in between classes.

I've been using my iPad as an e-reader too, its great when textbooks are available as pdf's, but its rare. Novels on the other hand are very easy to get for the ipad.