Ipad for work

Discussion in 'iPad' started by powerman, Mar 16, 2012.

1. powerman macrumors regular

powerman

My company is looking to get us the new ipad(3). Is anyone else going to be using it for work purposes?
    Has it been useful to those using the ipad 2?
    I drive a lot with my work, and having a laptop along just is not working for me. It is a toughbook, very heavy and not really user friendly on the side of the road.

2. Jspring86 Suspended

Jspring86

I use my iPad for work. I'm a PhD student and instructor in mathematics. All of my research notebooks and lecture notes for the courses I teach are kept on the iPad. I also use it to compile interactive sets of notes for my students. I think it is a very useful tool in these respects.

In addition to the above uses I also use it to write some code when I'm away from my laptop, usually LaTex or Matlab code, but I have used it for Python and C script composition as well.

It is also great as a device for reading and annotating PDFs.

I don't know what work you plan to do with it, but I find it an indispensable tool.

3. shamash macrumors 6502a

shamash

:O Do you teach at NAU?

4. Jspring86 Suspended

Jspring86

Indeed I do. I'm teaching MAT 137-Calculus II this semester.

5. jackc macrumors 65816

jackc

What apps do you use for that?

6. Jspring86 Suspended

Jspring86

Notability lets me add voice recording links with my handwritten/typed notes. This lets the students listen to me solve an example while they see me solving the example in the notes. It lets me add my lecture material in with the handwritten notes, it works pretty well I think.

7. jackc macrumors 65816

jackc

Cool, do you use a stylus?

8. Jspring86 Suspended

Jspring86

9. powerman thread starter macrumors regular

powerman

Anyone else doing work on there Ipad? Everything we have is windows related or BB. How do IT guys like it when you use an Ipad at work?

10. Bobby.e macrumors 6502